Drakensberg -Family Tour


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Pietermaritzburg
October 15th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Drankerberg

follow this link for clear directions: http://www.sa-venues.com/maps/kwazulunatal_drakensberg.htm

Mountains do good things to me. My first few days in the Ukhahlamba Drakensbergin KwaZulu-Natalhave helped me, I am sure of it. Sometimes when I struggle to make sense of my place in the world, or when my depression does its best to drag me down, I just know that it’s time to climb a mountain.


So I put on my boots, with my camera bag on my back, and I look skywards. I choose a route, and I start at the beginning. I put one foot in front of the other, and I make slow progress. At first, thoughts race through my head. Why, how, what, where? Questions without answers bombard my brain. My cold body, still chilled from the night, adapts slowly to the gradient. My legs ache and my heart beats rapidly.




Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb