Wandering with the "dud"navigator


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Pretoria
April 11th 2014
Published: April 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we were going to catch the train to Pretoria, South Africa’s capital, but to do that we had to find the station, so with dud confident that he could take us to the station direct, we wondered through the streets in circles for half an hour until dud swallowed his pride and asked for directions.



From the station we caught the train to Pretoria and set off from the station to find the parliament house, and lo, more wandering under the guidance of the great dud. Then he again relented and we caught the bus back to the train station were we got a taxi to monument hill from there we climbed the 500 steps up to the top were I looked town and my legs literally turned to jelly as the marble floor made it look as though you much higher than you were and you had to lean over a long way to see.



On the down there was some animals that looked a little like antelope or wildebeest.



From there we had lunch and waited for our taxi to (much to dud’s displeasure) help us find our way. Meanwhile Chris in his competitive ways made me race him in 100 meter sprint after this I began to feel sick, very sick. And I proved my illness to the sceptical peoples (Chris) and threw up in a hat on the way back to Joburg, Chris still thinks it was a fake but I think convinced dud who had to hold open the hat. After that I felt a million times better. J



When we got back mum felt very bad for dumping the unfortunate job clean the clothes that were sacrificed for me, on someone else. Then I just wiled the rest of the day away.

Advertisement



11th April 2014

Insulting my son
My poor little boy is being insulted by my grandson. You know it's possible that navigating without his GPS may not be his strongest point.
11th April 2014

Hi there
How lucky are you?? Sounds like a fantastic trip, wish we could join you. Take loads of photos to show us when u get to Barrington in June. Love from us John and Lyn
13th April 2014

sounds like fun
Sounds like you're having lots of fun and can't wait to hear more.
13th April 2014
IMG_1344

Aaah, the memories
Hi Chris and Matt. The "Voortrekker Monument" pic brought back heaps of memories. We lived in Pretoria from 1973-1980, and there used to be a great "pie, chips and gravy" shop near there somewhere. Anyway, glad to see you guys are blogging and I'll be sure to keep an eye on your adventures.
17th April 2014

Since I could speak
I've been insulting him since I could speak, grandma

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb