Back at Twana...a time to reflect


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Pretoria
November 15th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

13 Nov - the bus journey goes surprisingly quickly. Realise when I reach Joburg thought that I should have got ticket to Pretoria. Staff are v friendly though and helpful and let me stay on, seems to take forever to get there. I get a glimpse of Joburg when we drive into the bus station, glad I'm not staying here, completely different vibe to Cape Town, much grittier...like Glasgow in fact, lol. My taxi driver isn't too sure how to get to Twana Lodge but thankfully I recognise the road end.

Ah, great to be back at Twana, feels like home. The owners Arne and Chris are pleased to see me and just leave me to my own devices. Where's Alan though???? It's 4.30pm by the time I manage to collapse at Oblivion and have a much needed savanna...22 hours after leaving Long Street in Cape Town. About an hour later Alan arrives back and is delighted to see me!!! I order in pizza for tea then have an early night, knackered. Wake in the middle of the night though and keep Alan company watching TV 😉

14 Nov - again, loads to do but first its great to
Where to next?Where to next?Where to next?

New Delhi of course!
sit in the garden, drinking tea with the dogs for company. There's Bagel (the beagle), Jacksi (a wee jack russell), Argyll (the great dane 'puppy') and the two German shepherds. Still lovin the vibe here at Twana and savouring every last moment in Africa. Get ALL of the backpack washed, dried and repacked as well as internet stuff and charging of every electrical device. Phew, ready to hit the road again. Look at Africa photos, really pleased with them. Join the guys for dinner - despite a heavy shower, it thankfully stops and we're able to have my last braai in Africa. V informal but great food and company. Trish, an old hand at leading overland trips keeps us amused with stories of life on the road while we prop up the bar of Oblivion, Arne does loads of impressions and the dogs run wild as usual. Sensible and head to bed early.

I have fallen in love with Africa, I'm really going to miss it here and would love to explore more of the continent like Kenya and Malawi. Very apprehensive about heading to India and leaving the 'security' of Africa and the great friends I've made, but I'm determined I'll be back. Will miss Errol too, the Springboks are playing Scotland at Murrayfield while I'm flying so he's instructed to text me the result 😊

A few interesting Afrikaans I picked up from Errol and Janet...

sisi = sister
broo = brother
dankie = thank you
rooi = red
braai = BBQ
wena = and you
papsac = winebox
babalas = hangover

FAREWELL AFRICA

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.1661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb