UK to Victoria Falls, with a hiccup!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg » Sandton
April 26th 2014
Published: May 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I was supposed to be flying from Manchester to Charles De Gaulle in Paris, then on to Johannesburg. From there I should leave my flight and get on another, to Victoria Falls! Best laid plans and all that eh?

Manchester to Paris - easy!

Arrived in Paris and saw there were 2 boarding gates for the flight to Johannesburg so I was a bit confused; all was clear when we were boarding; it was the HUGE A380 2 floored plane that looked too big to move, let alone fly!

I sat on the ground floor; was pretty nifty really and quite an experience.

However, on arriving at Johannesburg we were almost landed when the pilot aborted the landing; it was not nice! As we shot back up at speed the co-pilot said the pilot would explain later why the landing was aborted. There were plenty of worried people on board and they later explained that another plane was already on the runway! (I cannot find any information about this though - are these reported??).

So, by the time the plane circled for a long time, then landed and started the horrendously long offloading of passengers (over 500 passengers) I had now missed my connecting flight to Zimbabwe!

JOHANNESBURG AIRPORT - BEWARE OF THE RATS!!

An official pointed out a "guy" who would help get me to my connecting flight: the guy turned out to be 2 guys, fighting over my bags - we rushed to my connecting flight to only be told I was less than 5 minutes too late to board. So, the guys took me to Air France (after all, it was their fault there was a firkin plane on the runway, yes?).

However, they then started demanding mega bucks for their tip! After telling them very nicely to go away I got a boarding house for the night and rearranged a flight for the following day to Victoria Falls - this is even better than part 1 of the flights!! Stay tuned to do a bit of logic problem solving!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb