St. Croix Island


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
February 18th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lesley, Breymore, Hilary, Candy and I went on a boat tour to St. Croix Island on Sunday, Valentine's Day. It was awesome! We were out for about 3 hours. On the way out we saw a cape fur seal just floating around enjoying the water. When we got to the island, there was a school of dolphins that just surrounded the boat. I was trying to take pictures of them, but they moved so quickly in random patterns. I took over 100 pictures and managed to get some pretty good ones. None of them posed for me, but I worked with what I had. The island was awesome as well. Lots of African Penguins standing around watching the boat load of people who were watching them. We sadly learned that the population of African Penguins on St. Croix Island has gone done 60% over the last 5 years due to overfishing by humans. It was a disappointing moment in the trip, but it was still so awesome to see them so close. I included some of the better photos. Actually, I had someone offer to buy a couple from me to use for their business advertisements, so we'll see how that works out. The whole trip was unforgettable - one of the coolest things I've ever done. Not much more to say - just enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



18th February 2010

WOW
That must have been a thrilling excursion. All I can say is Wow!
23rd February 2010

Awesome
Becky, I've enjoyed reading about your experience. You've been in my prayers. May you continue to have an awesome time in SA.

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb