In the Class


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
February 1st 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took some pictures of the classroom I was teaching in last week. Notice the lack of technology. Since I was thrown into the fire, I did have to rely and good old fashioned lecture and a chalkboard. I tried to have the kids do an activity but they're not used to that so I learned that I have to break down basic instructions to be even more basic. Something simple like tearing a piece of paper in half took multiple instructions just because they were so organized and not used to breaking away from the regular class structure. Things like "Ma'am, which way should I tear it?" or "Ma'am, should I measure the paper first?"

I also did the dancesport on Friday. I figured since I'm not athletic than maybe I could dance. I hung in with the starters. Lesley teaches dancesport to the starters on Fridays and has asked that I help with the large group, so that was nice. Hopefully I'll learn a thing or two about formal dancing as well.

Sorry for the short entry, but break is almost over.

Have a great week everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd February 2010

I love seeing all these pictures! I can't wait for more! I hope that even though you have to break down simple instructions that the literacy/spelling skills are better than you saw in Lexington! Can't wait to hear more. :)
11th February 2010

I have witnessed it!!!
Thank you for your entry Becca. I started reading your comment and thought....another European thinking they can change Africa and probably teaching at small black school and giving the wrong impressions. Only to see the pictures!!! The horror!!! I had the privilege to attend a white school and realized it difficult for them to think outside the box. Always having to ask a million question for even the simplest tasks. Goodluck...i think its from year of indoctrination from parents...the circle continues

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb