First Outting Weekend


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
January 25th 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from the professional surfer and safarian!

I'll start from Friday! Sports day was quite interesting and warm! The houses all did more skits/spirit starter to kick off the day. One team even drove a fire truck onto the field! The kids were to continue cheering all day and there was a winner chosen for the best House spirit. I'm not quite sure who it was yet, I was just impressed that in the 90 degree weather they were all jumping up and down and still yelling. Apparently though they didn't impress everyone because some of the students were complaining today about how much it died down after the beginning, I didn't notice! I was in charge of high jump, which basically just meant that I measured the stick to make sure it was right. I tried to jump it at 120 cm...it wasn't pretty...guess it's not my sport. There were some pretty amazing girls though, and one of the boys did 170 cm! The bar was above the judges head! Crazy! The relays were fun to watch as well, they were the last events of the day.

Saturday, we went and rented a tiny little car and drove to Jeffrey's Bay! By the way, not sure if you're aware, they drive on the left side of the road here. So, the drivers seat is on the right side and the stick is on the left (obviously in the middle). Oh and the blinkers are on the right side of the steering wheel...all very confusing! And no power stearing...quite the workout! Nevertheless, we made it there and to our surf lessons with Andrew! Two hours and we were practically professionals! It was super fun and very exhausting! By the end I was so exhausted I really couldn't get my toosh out of the water. We have lots of fun pics from the surfing and the drive there and back, hopefully I figured out how to post them on here and you can check them out. They one with just a surfboard and no one on it is my favorite, look for my fingers just behind the board. We took quite the scenic route and it was very different from the big city we are used to living in. Actually felt like we were in Africa. Drove through quite a few places where people lived in shacks and shanties, they like to walk in the middle of the road too, not really sure where they're going cause there wasn't much around but they sure like to walk. Our little Kia had some tough times making it up hills with all 5 of us in it but with a little downshifting, we made it!

Sunday we went to Seaview Lion Park. We saw giraffe, some spring bock and deer antelope looking animals we couldn't come up with the name for, and of course the lions. We saw a couple monkeys from afar but unlike the other animals, when you drove close, they seemed to scatter. And Sunday is feeding day for the lions so I didn't include any of those pictures but it was interesting. And then we got to go in with the "baby" lions and hang out with them. My favorite was Melissa, you'll see her eating my hair in the pictures! At one point she got a little rough and the handler had to smack her face! They're actually only about 6 months old but they're huge! It was SO much fun! You'll see the lions were in cages but all the other animals are just out and about roaming. This particular park you actually just pay to get in and then just drive around the paths in your own car. I'm the oldest and the only one who can drive a stick so I got to drive, but we still stopped lots so I still got to see everything. They are obviously used to the humans because you can drive right up next to them and they won't even stand up from where they're laying.

But, that was about it. Big first weekend and had lots of fun! Unfortunately back to school tomorrow, but that's ok, I like that too. I'll try and post some pictures of my roommates and our house and my school next so you can check that out as well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

And after surfingAnd after surfing
And after surfing

Our cheering section included Gideon, a South African student that lives in the flat behind us and his friend JJ


25th January 2010

Brave girl
I loved the pictures. Even if I was your age I wouldn't have tried surfing. Saw them surf on the pipeline in Oahu. You should have seen those waves. Keep them coming. Love, AB
1st February 2010

best captions ever
Jessica! I absolutely love the captions on your photos! I can hear you laughing as you wrote them. I wish I could have been there to see you surfing...I'm totally jealous that I'm up here freezing everyday in 20 degree weather with no heat in the school and you are surfing! Oh well...I guess that's what I get for going to Ireland. Can't wait to see more pictures and read more stories!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb