Weather and Grade 3"s


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This will have to be quick as the internet was very slow today to get going.

We met another volunteer not at the hotel for a meal out on Sunday and had a typical PE taxi experience. You are warned not to walk in the dark so we did the right thing and ordered a taxi and ended up standing on a street corner making a series of mobile phone calls. It was on it's way. It was just coming. It was 7 minutes away. The driver must have switched his phone off. He is just round the corner. I think we waited more than 30 minutes and could have walked it in 10 but this is the pace. It is going to get harder to get taxis as the cost of petrol goes up today by quite a large margin. The hotel has cancelled it's minibus service to the local shops.

Yesterday was well over 30 and it was my first day with the Grade 3's who seems to be anything from 8 - 11. With the help of bottles of water we managed. The middle group and I were dripping but they got going and none of them have clicks in their names which is a great relief as the prospect of learning another 18 was a bit daunting. Apart from the clicks, I find I can read their names now having grasped the key phonic differences. If they finish their work they get to choose a book from my cupboard and they sit and "read". Big thanks to Terri and Shirley School for the books they gave me. I am hoping to pay for some reading corners in the classrooms as my contribution. Part of what we pay goes to the school as a donation which we decide jointly. I have been talking to the foundation teachers and they are keen. My grade 2's kept coming in to say hello and ask if they are coming tomorrow.


It was straight on the beach and in the surf to cool off after tea. There isn't much time to get a drink at school and the hour in the bus is a finisher. I yawn all the way home.

There was a fairly wild storm during the night with lots of thunder flashes. Today it was even cool - well in the low 20's. Some of the children came to school in woolly hats and anoraks! The dirt track to our school was even more uneven with huge puddles and the main school gate was one large puddle so we had to go in a side entrance.

Tomorrow there is another function at school. They have been given some netballs and footballs and there is a presentation and probably some music and food.

It is all go here!

Love hearing from you all.


Advertisement



5th March 2008

getting some STUFF
I have 2 sources that would be glad to collect school supplies or anything else the school could use, markers, paper etc etc....you could let me know on your main blog if that is appealing and I will get in touch - just let me know what should be sent.... Sounds HOT there - but it's still very wintery here in Maine so NO sympathy! XO Jillian

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb