Here and getting started


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
February 19th 2008
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Life is full of new experiences. I managed to meet my colleague at the airport - we arrived at the same time and having expchanged photos got through the check in quickly once we had convinced them we really were allowed 40 kilos. I did think we might have to unpack again. Johannesburg airport was a bit daunting and we only just caught the onward flight but everything went smoothly afterwards and we only had a ten minute drive from the airport to our base in Port Elizabeth. We connected with other volunteers unpacked and walked on the beach over the road. It was a bit dull and not very warm so I kept out of the sea except for a quick paddle. I got hot later when I sat in the front row on my own to watch the African dancing before dinner and got dragged in. The singing was beautiful and the dancing was infectious despite no sleep on the plane.

We had a tour of the townships yesterday and it was really an eye opener. Although there has been a lot of progress, it is an enormous task and stark visual reminders of the past stare you in the face. The buffer zones between the different designated areas are still evident and are desolate withdebris gathering. One local project is paying woment to collect the rubbish and there are a few signe of attempts to use the land. We visited three schools. Mine is the farthest out and along a dirt road in the middle of an area where the houses are still shacks. The school itself is in a modern building but very crowded with limited equipment but welcoming and friendly as are the children. We had lunch at one school where the staff sang to us and we all had hugs and the Xhosa handshake which was great fun. A bit more dancing here!

We had a cultural orientation briefing back at Calabash including a dvd. We get a copy to bring home
so I will be able to show anyone who is interested.

Today was my first day at school, cut short by all the teachers needing to go to a mass union meeting. I spend a couple of hours with the foundation head in her level 2 class. They want me to stay in foundation but they do not speak English yet. They were doing maths this morning and I managed to help some of them using a bit of logic and worked out the word for before! I have not mastered the clicks although Nelson, our tour guide yesterday, tried hard to teach us. I have yet to really negotiate my role. The teaching is whole class and some children today did not have pencils! I am on my way to buy some in a minute as I left the ones I sorted out behind. The children are very responsive. My school had a prereception class and i would love to do some finger plays with them but I think I will need to negotiate that on.

The books that Terri got me are perfect as far as I can gather although it may not be me who uses them There is endless teacher talk amongst the volunteers over meals. Oxford Tree is what most of us have come with. They are hoping to get a reading scheme in the schools - Calabash work with a cluster of 6. They are looking as Sunshine who do an African version but I think they are similar.

We have to get up and be ready to leave at 7.15 and my school is the last drop off so it is almost an hour in the minibus.

I did manage a bit of yoga this morning and the sun is shining so I am off for a swim There is wine tasting in the bar tonight and we are hoping to go to the Addo Elephant Park on Sunday. Apparently once of the Calabash worker is a great musician and we get an organised trip to a shebeen too.

Love to all


Advertisement



19th February 2008

Lovely to hear from you again
Hello Sue, I was very glad to read your newest blog entry, good to know you are there and finding your way around. You will be keeping fit with all the dancing you are doing. Have fun, and work hard. Love Chris H x
21st February 2008

Xhosa handshake
Hi Sue, What an interesting time you are having! What is a Xhosa handshake? And how are you getting on with the clicks now? x Rose
23rd February 2008

hope you're having fun
H Sue, god, you're so adventurous!! It sounds quite an experience, although not quite sure where you are exactly? look forward to hearing more, take care lots of love, Ali xx

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb