Hello from PE!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys, quick shout just to say "I'm in Port Elizabeth!!" Again, i dont have my camera cable on me... i really gotta start carrying that thing around with me :o)

The bus ride here was amazing... one of those sleepliners... super spacious and big windows. It made the trip super easy to handle. And we got here and the Kwantu people picked us up... in a Beamer. Yes, a brand new (think brand new car smell) BMW.... i think Shona and i lucked out on our volunteer placement ;o)

There are so many many things to tell you guys (i.e. it sounds like we're going to get to help out with "Lion Walks" which.... get ready for this.... is when you take tourists for hikes ALONGSIDE tame lions. Yup. Does it GET any cooler than that??!!!) but my internet time is quickly running out and i'd be so mad if i dont get this posted before it kicks me off... so bye for now!!!!!!

Janine

Advertisement



23rd November 2006

Glad to see you are having such a GREAT time. This will be something you will remember for the rest of your life. My thought on this last blog is this- brand new Beamer, Muslims,etc. Are you definitely sure this reserve isn't a front for a Cartel or something like that? Just being a caring DAD!!!!!!!!!! WE miss you. Dad
27th November 2006

Hey Beanie. Just a quick 'hello'. I can't believe that you'll be walking amongst the lions! Be sure to take lots and lots of pics with your feline friends. Let us know how things are going at the reserve. I'll e-mail you later.
29th November 2006

Luxury travel!
Hi Janine! Janis here (I work for the City of Owen Sound). I just wanted to say that it sounds like you are travelling in style! Good for you! The best means of travel we had was the back of a toyota pick up truck! How did you enjoy walking with the lion cubs? Are all the animals on the reserve tame or used to humans? I had the opportunity to visit a cheetah park and sit with tame cheetahs but that was the only tame animals we saw. I would imagine the weather is starting to get quite warm during the day. How are the mosquitos? I hope you have lots of bug spray! Take care and be careful. I hope you share your photos when you get back!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb