Going Back


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I didn't expect to be picking this up again but I am about to leave for another month as a volunteer in Joe Slovo School near Kwa-Dwesi township. I am in that state of nervous anticipation which always grips you before something which is a bit of a challenge. I am looking forward to going back to the school to see how it has changed and to meet some of the children and the staff again. I think I am going to be working in the upper part of the school this time with older children which is closer to my experience. I expect to be supporting on Life Orientation which in the context of the township is outside my comfort zone. Sometimes requirements have changed by the time you arrive in the school so I am keeping an open mind and hoping I can make a contribution.

I read Nelson Mandela before my last trip and it helped to put things into a context. Someone recommended "No Future without Forgiveness" by Desmond Tutu so that has been my preparation for this trip. It has been a good fit with the anniversary celebrations. Twenty years may seem a long time but it is short compared to the previous regimes. It is also short as a time span in which to make the huge changes that are needed to create a fairer society. I remain amazed at the magnitude of the task.

On a less serious note, I have packed two swimming costumes and I am looking forward to walking on the beach with a couple of old friends in the evening and a bit of body surfing. Please don't remind me that there are sharks in South Africa. It isn't in our bit or at least I hope not. We are hoping not to lose our clothes on the beach this time and to avoid an embarrassing walk back to the hotel.

My knowledge of technology has moved on a bit so I am taking a netbook with me. I am hoping to use Skype and to be able to do a bit more editing than I did last time although my fingers don't always keep up. Frequent emailing these days also leads to lazy punctuation which I am sure will be noted by some of my education colleagues.

I have just realised that my technical knowledge is not as good as I thought as I nearly lost this message before I had finished. I did not manage to attach any photos last year and was detouring to see how to do it. I did send photos to the school and I am taking the photos on memory stick if there seems a suitable opportunity to show them. I might manage to put some on this year.

I am half packed and dithering about shoes to wear to school. I am two years into retirement now and none of the voluntary things I do here require me to wear anything at all formal. I have to factor in a slightly wonky knee and rough dirt roads and dust. The children make great efforts to be tidy in their uniforms often very extensively "preworn"so I need to live up to that.

I leave on Monday but will probably be a headless chicken over the weekend so thought I would get this started today. It was good to hear from some of you last time.






Advertisement



12th February 2010

whe hee
Have been wondering if you were going to do this again, and now I know ! shall add to 'my favourites' speak later, H
12th February 2010

"traveling mercies" Anne lamont
Hey Hope you have a smooth journey - John was here yesterday and I used one of my xmas "coupons" - so "skype" is installed and you should have me on your list - or whatever...it will be amazing if it works out! John was also amazed at my level or LACK of comprehension of the workings of a computor - it was a good lesson for him as regards to many of us not having his generations comfort level with technology - I am sure it will be an awesome experience - I am forwarding your blog to Dagny - who would love to do something like you are doing and has the educational background and adventurous spirit to travel - unlike your sis! XO Jillian
12th February 2010

All the best
Hello Sue, All the very best for your visit this time, I am sure they will be glad to have you there again adding your expertise to their school. We will miss you while you are away, but look forward to reading your blogs and maybe skyping you a few times to chat. Is there a time difference or not, don't want to wake you in the middle of the night to tell you it is cold and raining here! Mind those huge white sharks out there when you are swimming! Love Chris xxxx
15th February 2010

good luck
I am really looking forward to hearing all about your time in PE. We have been in touch with Laurie, whom you are about to meet, and enjoyed his email. It is good to be in touch with people on the spot. The teachers at tshume are hopeless at writing and even paul is a reluctant email correspondant. Good luck to all three, i am sure you will have a good time looking forward to the next installment brenda
16th February 2010

Good Luck
Such dedication and spirit of adventure is well worth praising. And luckily I also have some pre-worn clothes that I could post to you if you're feeling left out, though you might have to roll the legs up a little! Best wishes - and I'm looking forward to the further opening of my eyes thro' your blog. Px

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb