Garden Route Continues


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Jeffreys Bay
May 12th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SkydivingSkydivingSkydiving

Everyone must go in their lifetime
So it has been a while since I have written an entry. My apologies, I have been keeping active and kind of forgot to write my blogs. It has been about a month since I last updated everyone on my life.
I’ll start by finishing my fall break. After we left the AIFS group I rode tripped around Africa with four of my friends, Emilee, Courtney, Sarah, and Bethany. The first day was Emilee’s 23rd birthday… so we went SKYDIVING! The day started out with some minor to major delays. There were seven of us going skydiving and only one car (a little chico). We ran to the ATM to grab cash quickly, but for some reason this took over an hours. I have no idea why. Once we all had our thousand rand we all pilled back into the car. We only made it about three blocks before we got pulled over by the police. The police told us that we couldn’t drive with seven people in the car. Emilee, Courney, and I decided that we would sit on the side of the road while the others rented another car. Finally, we were of the Pletts bay (running about three hours late… haha). Skydiving was amazing. The door opened at 10,000 ft and we jumped. I did a couple of flips in the air, had a 37 sec free fall going 120 mph. Bethany and Ryan actually saw dolphins and whales in the ocean during their skydive and Jake went during the sunset. It was a great day and I can’t wait to go again!
The next day we drove to natures valley and stayed at a backpackers called Wild Tongue. We were in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by nature. The backpackers was like a giant tree house. We walked around and explored, saw a horse in a house and chickens in the kitchen (strange but hilarious). While we were there we hiked to a waterfall, of course had a braai, played drums for hours, and painted a wall of the backpackers. This backpackers is make by artists, so they told us we could contribute.
Jeffery’s Bay was our next destination. J Bay is known for its surfing and its shopping. The shopping was a little disappointing, but the beach was great. We planned to only stay there for one night, and ended up staying for three. We met
Natures ValleyNatures ValleyNatures Valley

the view from our room
up with Jake, Andrew, and Ryan at the Island Vibe backpackers. The backpacker was right on the beach, and we spent most of our days there. The waves were great, surfing, boogie boarding, or just body surfing. On our last night, a group of about ten more AIFS students stayed at the backpackers, a great surprise. All fifteen of us went out to dinner at a Mexican restaurant (some of the best Mexican food I have had here in za and great margaritas). It was a great couple of days.
One our way back home, we stopped by a lion park. Here they let you go into the cages with cub lions. I actually pet a five month old lion cub. There are three ages, three months, five months, and eleven months. The cubs are so adorable, I kept petting the cubs like they were my pet back home. You forget that they are wild and kind of dangerous animals. It was a great ending to an awesome week!
Cheers
Katie


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

......
...

looking for the little dots that just jumped out of a plane
Cub lionsCub lions
Cub lions

this was my favorite cub... so cute
Cub lionsCub lions
Cub lions

this was my favorite cub... so cute
island vibeisland vibe
island vibe

the backpackers in j bay
the littlest cubsthe littlest cubs
the littlest cubs

only one week old


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb