Gerenuk Country


Advertisement
Somalia's flag
Africa » Somalia » Somaliland » Hargeisa
December 17th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What is a gerenuk? According to American Heritage Dictionary, a gerenuk is "An African gazelle (Litocranius walleri) having long legs, a long slender neck, and backward-curving horns in the male." The Word itself is from the Somali language. This is Somaliland -- the land of the gerenuks. It is also my birthplace, a place from which I had been absent for most my adult life, and to which I have returned now. So I am not actually a passing traveller, but more like a returnee, more like a sailor visiting his home port.

I am in Hargeisa, Somaliland. Somaliland broke away from Somalia in 1991, after a tumultuous union dating to 1960. Before Somaliland was a British Protectorate, until it became independent in June 1960; joined Somalia in the same year.

One of things I like about this country is its sheer physical beauty; it has a long chain of mountains, a long coastline and a plateau country.

I will try to find the elusive gerenuks, which, I had been told, had made comeback lately--they were previously almost extinct in this country. Meanwhile, I will post my thoughts on what I found this country as well as some
Berbera beachesBerbera beachesBerbera beaches

Beautiful but empty beaches
pictures. I will keep you posted.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Berbera beachesBerbera beaches
Berbera beaches

Waves but no surfers


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb