Anchovy spaghetti and the birthday of the Prophet


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region
April 10th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This evening begins the celebration of the birthday of Muhammed, so I don't work tomorrow. The city is more animated than usual, and the taxis are all full.
Yesterday I made anchovy spaghetti for dinner and it was really darn good. And easy! I'll make it for anyone who wants to try. I feel quite a bit more integrated here than in Dakar, even though I've only been here for awhile. It's entirely different not having any other Americans around. My French and Wolof are improving. Back to the subject of food, my host dad wants to know when I'm going to make some American food - mom could you send me a recipe for something good, and maybe also for chocoate chip cookies?
I can't believe I'm saying this, but I may have eaten so many onions here that I actually like them. I was so sure that they were the devil's apple before I came here, but the other day I noticed myself actually scooting something else out of the way to put a piece of onion on my fork. Liver, however, I still have to force myself to chew and swallow, and I can't say I relish the idea of eating enough to actually like it.
Funny things happen all the time. The other day, I went with Awa to visit a friend's house, and when we got back, she discovered the key to our room was no longer in her pocket, but must have fallen out along the way. My key was in my purse which was sitting on the corner of our bed, where we could see it through the slots in the door. We thought about sleeping outside, but that left the problem of clothes to wear to work in the morning. She had the idea to reach through and try to use the handle of the broom to grab the strap of my purse, and bring it to the door so we could grab it and pull it out through the slots. Well, this seemed like it would work until the broom handle broke and fell into the room, as the key moved even further out of reach, which was of course followed by "what do carry in your purse, rocks?" Then she went away for a minute and I heard water running. Curious, I looked out into the courtyard to see her rinsing off this long metal rod with a hook at the end. I was guessing this interesting tool had some purpose pertaining to dredging sewage, or perhaps the hacking up of some animal behind the goat house I'd seen earlier that day. Not too far off. At any rate it was quite effective. We got the purse, opened the door, and collapsed onto the bed laughing.
okay I'm out of time but I have a lot more stories. I'll try to write again soon!

Advertisement



10th April 2006

Anchovy Spaghetti
Christina: I think this sounds good. In fact, I have a recipie that I used to make quit often called Hooker's Pasta, which includes anchovies, black olives and several other ingredients typicall found in the Mediteranian region The idea is that the Working Ladies often need to make a meal in a hurry, and use whatever they have on hand at the time. I think we should try your's at a pre-race meal next fall- what do you think the others will say?
12th April 2006

congrats
Congratulations on getting RA, hopefully you don't lose your keys next year, we don't have convenient door slots, or butcher hooks. Best of luck mustering up the courage to get on the plane and leave Africa, you sound at home there. You'll have to make some sweet connections so you can go back, and maybe bring me for a visit. Sadly I think I would have to eat a lot of anchovies to aquire the taste for them, let alone the other conconctions you speak of. Oh, I walked across the train bridge the other day, didn't want you to show me up. Twinkle twinkle kid.
2nd May 2006

Christina! I just read all of your entries (finally)! I'm kind of glad you didn't have one for each day. It was awesome to hear about what you have been doing. I have to admit, I'm a little jealous of the adventures, but not the anchovies. Mark is doing FOCUS next year, so we will be moving to Lincoln, but we will come visit BC a lot! When do you get back?

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb