Off to Dakar


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region
October 1st 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


October 1, 2009

READY TO GO
Leaving Florida to go to Washington, DC for a few days with family, before going off for Senegal, I thought about how blessed I felt. It has been a number of years that I have wanted and planned to go to Africa, but other priorities, concerns, or impediments arose. Once things began to move this time, it was nearly magical. Unexpected and timely incidents paved the way nearly effortlessly.

Going on sabbatical and having my job waiting became a surprise option. I wanted to keep my house (and it is not a good time to sell) but I did not have to look for a tenant or put things in storage because my son decided to move back to Florida.

APPRECIATION
As time to leave approached and more and more people learned of the trip, I was blown away by how supportive, generous, and interested friends and family were. I did not expect the outpouring of affection and gifts. I did not think this would have much of an impact for most since is easy to hand over what I did to others. I appreciated tremendously the glimpse of my spot in the hearts of those who reached out to me. Lovely. Thank you.

IFESH
A word about what I am off to do..

I will be in Kaolack, Senegal, as a volunteer teacher trainer. Africa has made a commitment to education, causing a teacher shortage. Many are in their positions with little preparation. I join the International Foundation for Education and Self-Help (http://www.ifesh.org/) in providing in-service workshops, developing curriculum, setting up teacher resource center, and being involved in various community activities. IFESH has been sending educators to Africa for over 25 years and has a current grant from US Agency for International Development to fulfill this work.

Off to Dakar!


Advertisement



2nd October 2009

Blessings on your journey
I'm so excited for you! Many, many blessings on your journey. Wherever you are, God is. And so it is!
2nd October 2009

O traveler!
Yanick, I am so thrilled to learn of your latest contribution to education. I have truly enjoyed (if that's the right word) hearing about your travels for teaching. Thank you so much for setting up your blog, my students at SCDJJ can follow your work. They don't have much understanding of service, so your experiences may help them learn. Blessings, peace, joy, strength to you, Louisa
2nd October 2009

All my love and blessings...
May the rain fall softly on you. May the hand of God uphold you. Christ before you, Christ behind you. Christ beneath you, Christ above you. Christ to shield you, Christ be with you. Christ be with you now and always. Christ in every eye that sees you. Christ in every ear that hears you. Christ in every heart that knows you. Christ in every word that speaks of you. Christ is on your left, Christ is on your right. Christ when you lie down and rise up.
2nd October 2009

Keeping track on you
As I said in my e-mail, I will be keeping up on your movements. Be Blessed.
2nd October 2009

God Speed
Hey Sister, I'm so envious of you for taking the bold step out in faith and doing exactly what you've wanted to do for some time. i eagerly await more messages and blogs from your adventure in Dakar. Please post pics. We teach and speak about the divine order of the universe, yet are often surprised to see it full blown in our experience. Blessings to you and your host community.
2nd October 2009

Kudos Yanick!!
Yanick, Thanks for the response and thanks for the blog. You will be quite a ways from Dakar, from what little I know of Senagal, you will be a distance out; or maybe not?. I looked for you at church on Sunday because I had a monetary gift for you; please let me know how I can get it to you. I am so excited for you as you make this journey of empowerment for you and those you will serve. I did copy the address for IFESH, and may very well make my contact eventually. Keep in touch; I would love follow you as you reflect on your experiences. God speed..enjoy, love, teach and learn.
6th October 2009

MY LOVE IS WITH YOU
I just want to join in with you in spirit knowing that this part of your journey is by Divine intervention. You are a soul waiting for this opportunity to be of service and explore the unexplored. When everything falls in order at the right time for a Divine purpose nothing and no one can stop the flow. That is why everything and everybody was in the right place at the right time. Keep in touch and who know you may be a channel for me to spead love thru Pins of Empowerment to Senegal. Love, Peace and Blessings with you on the journey.
9th November 2009

All this adventure and Skype too! Life is so good.
9th November 2009

Hi! I am in Senegal so phone call is expensive (221-77-386-0118) and there is no mailing address, but I do keep up with the blog and email. Thanx so much for the encouragement.
9th November 2009

Great prayer. I accept!
9th November 2009

I will be in one place mostly now, but definitely on the move.
9th November 2009

Thanx for kind words. I knew in going away I would find more of myself. It is so cool.
9th November 2009

I am in regular prayer to be open to whatever comes along, so I expect to be able to share plenty of goodness.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb