finally an entry with photos!


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ile de GoréeIle de GoréeIle de Gorée

Ben, here's the instrument I bought for you on Gorée, just like you requested (it's in the mail)
hello all! Hope this finds you well and having a good Lent. It has been a good week here. On Tuesday, for International Women's Day, I went to the National Gallery of Art downtown where there was a special exhibit of works by Senegalese women, which was really neat. Also I found out where and what I'll be doing for my internship! I'll be in Kaolack, a medium-sized city several hours from Dakar, and I'll be working with an NGO (non-governmental organization) helping provide microfinance for women in the region. Women can't get loans from banks here because they have nothing to offer as collateral (property titles etc are always in the name of the husband) and thus they don't have sufficient capital to start a project that could bring in some income. So, what this organization does is provide loans to women so they have to opportunity to work their way out of poverty. A group of women presents their plans and if approved, receive a loan (with a much lower interest rate than the banks). I think the organization also checks up on the projects to make sure it's working, and the money's being used like they said it
my host family!my host family!my host family!

cousin Paul, Nabou in the back, Rosa and Antonin and baby Carol-Louise
would be - anyway, I'll know more about the details in a little while!! It's going to be SO cool, I'm having trouble believing all the things I get to do here. I'm a little bit nervous about having a job here when I can barely speak the language, but I'll let you know how that goes. Everyone says Kaolack is really hot (that's ok, I like the heat) and my Lonely Planet guidebook says it's home to the second largest covered market in Africa (after Marrakech, Morocco) ha! How delightful! I leave for Kaolack the 26th of March, I think, right after we get back from spring break (which starts this Saturday). I'm not sure yet what I'm doing for spring break - I'm torn between taking the train to Bamako, Mali, and taking the big boat to Casamance, in southern Senegal (the desert or the jungle!?! je ne peux pas décider!) . So today I'm going to go with Mara, one of the other MSID students, to the Embassy of Mali, to find out if we'd need visas, and how much they would cost. If it's expensive, we'll prob'ly just head south like most of the other MSIDers. Last night the power went out for several hours, so I just chilled in the courtyard with Nabou and Amina and the baby, looking at the sky through the branches of our mango tree, listening to music on the little radio, and then we ate cere ak yapp (couscous and mutton - one of my FAVORITE Senegalese dishes, it is so good!) by candlelight. I don't have a paper due for the rest of the week so I could just relax and it was such a Lovely evening!! I love Senegal. And my life. Ok, well, I'm going to upload these photos and then head to the Malienne Embassy - take care! love Christina


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

In St. LouisIn St. Louis
In St. Louis

there were so many goats! and you can see the pirogues (fishing boats) in the background
St. LouisSt. Louis
St. Louis

fish market
ME in the big Baobab!ME in the big Baobab!
ME in the big Baobab!

with Emily and Melissa
in the kitchen with the girlsin the kitchen with the girls
in the kitchen with the girls

learning to make ceebujen
in the kitchen with the girlsin the kitchen with the girls
in the kitchen with the girls

Amina putting in the fish
in the kitchen with the girlsin the kitchen with the girls
in the kitchen with the girls

Valerie, who left to go work somewhere else last week, I haven't seen her since


14th March 2006

Get me on the next plane!
My dear Christina, Your stories are wonderful, and now to see the beautiful people and places that are in your daily life... it takes me back to good ol' India! I now know how surreal it is to be stuck in the U.S. while knowing I have a friend halfway around the globe in a place that is so inspiring and down to earth. Once the travel bug bites... Many blessings on your internship...it sounds like they designed it just perfectly for you! You're my language queen; language barriers are nothin' for you! Know that I think of you often! May St. Francis Xavier be with you! Love in Christ, Dara
14th March 2006

You're amazing!
Girl, you totally rock my world! You are living out your dream! Amazing! I never had a doubt in my mind you would. I love reading your stories and the pictures are great. It makes me feel like I'm a fly on the wall (or perhaps in honor of freshmen year, the wasp by the light at 4 am) learning you're story. I hope everything continues to go well for you and that you never stop dancing! Love, prayers, and best wishes, Nick
18th March 2006

wow
Wow! Everything you're doing sounds so wonderful! That internship sounds like it would be perfect for you. And you have a mango tree in your backyard?!? You should make your host family lassis (I don't think that's spelled right). It's so nice to be able to picture all of the things you talk about. You look so happy and beautiful in all of those pictures. And that tree looks like it would be REALLY fun to play in! Love you lots!
18th March 2006

Hello! Those are amazing pictures! You know, thay talk about a Baobab tree in Le Petit Prince! I do not remember the exact context, but I had no idea that they actually existed! Cool, well have a great spring break, whatever you do! All my love, Hannah
23rd March 2006

booyah
Just got back from break, lots of snow, bet you can't imagine that right now. Just saw the picture, really surpised me, thanks, and I hope it makes it. I don't think there are many tabs for an instrument like that, so you will have to learn about it so you can teach me. Wish you could see the smile on my face.
24th March 2006

beautiful people
For some reason when I think of you lately cuz, I think of people like Peter Jennings. May you be as successful. I'm counting on it. ;o) I hope your health is great. It's funny how some things are so different and others are so the same no matter where you go. Stay safe and know we love you. David Summerly
27th March 2006

I am speechless.
Nina-your blog is so fun to read and inspiring. And your photos are beautiful. I am just blown away! Keep it coming. Hope you are finding things in Kaolack agreeable. Things are finally starting to bloom around here! Love, Pete
29th March 2006

Cousin David
It's Uncle Pete! Isn't he the greatest?

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb