more dancing, imagine that


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
February 5th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hello! hope this finds you well, my life here just seems to be getting better all the time. Except for sometimes I do things and immediately afterward wonder why (for example volunteering to give a presentation in my theory of development class.) I don't know what came over me.
The power goes out fairly often here, and it happened again Saturday night. Well, it was too dark to do homework so that left nothing to do but dance in the courtyard to the music on the little battery-powered radio with Anima and Valerie and the baby. And it was a good thing I got that practice in, because later I went to a soiree at this place called Restaurant Petit Dakar in my neighborhood. It started at 11 pm and I danced danced danced! non-stop all night long and oh my goodness it was SO fun! Then of course I was wired and couldn't sleep so I was a little tired the next day. Coach Lane, if you're reading this, I suggest dumping the Sunday morning 10-miler in favor of dancing until daybreak Saturday night. It was a soiree with the choir at St. Pierre's (a fundraiser), and so I'd just met a few of the people who were going to be there but I was really glad I went. Anthone walked me there (he was the president of the choir at St. Pierre for several years, so he knew a bunch of the people there) and then made sure I had some people to talk to (what a nice host dad! so I wasn't completely launched out of my comfort zone) I got some compliments on my dancing (tu danses bien! comme une senegalaise!) HA! Sometimes it's hard to tell when people here are just being nice, or if it's really true. But since some of the same people said I spoke French well, I have to assume they were just trying to make me feel better about how I dance, too.
It got really crowded around 1 a.m. (because it's just not cool to be the first one to show up). It was in open courtyard area, so you could see the stars if you looked up, and there was a grill in the corner, under a tree, from which came these DELICIOUS kebabs. They played a bunch of different music, mostly some of the popular dance music from different African countries, a little MC Hammer, and some traditional Senegalese dance stuff at the end of the night. Man, it was fun!
Oh by the way I also joined the choir. When we went to mass last weekend the music was glorious. Also it was a big group of friendly people around my age, and I was invited, so I joined! I don't think they've ever had a toubab (white person) in the choir before. Practice is Wednesday and Friday evenings, so at least I got a couple practices in before we sang for mass on Sunday. Ha! but the music is in mostly Serrer and Wolof and some French so I might've had to lip sing on a verse here or there.
Tomorrow is the Moslem New Year (it's called Tamxarit here) and so there will be a lot of celebrating tomorrow! Since my host family is Catholic I might go to one of the other students homes to see what it's like. Traditionally everyone in the family comes home and has a big, rich meal with couscous, and then they turn the bowl over and say prayers, because it is the day when Allah ordains who will die, get married, give birth, etc. during the next year. Then they fashion tamtams (senegalese drums) out of animal skins, and the men dress up as women and the women as men, and they go from house to house and collect gifts like millet and fruit (kind of like Halloween!) and then there are more prayers, and singing and dancing and nobody goes to work of course. During class today our Wolof teacher taught us a traditional song they sing. We got to clap a lot, too, which made our teacher start to dance! It was fun.
Earlier this week, I was walking from WARC (the West African Research Center, where I have most of my classes) to the Baobab Center (where I have Wolof), when Senegal won a match, and all these Senegalese came running out of their stores and cheering, and people were honking, and it was crazy and fun and joyous, and I love this country! but Senegal lost to Egypt tonight so now they're out of the African Cup. Too bad.
It was hot today, so I ate my lunch on the beach in the sun with my feet in the surf - hard to believe it's February! This is the life.
Love!


Advertisement



8th February 2006

beach
grrr youre so lucky, bonnie and I spent all day wishing we were at the beach and then you write about your lunch at the beach! by the way you had better be getting me a souvenir every day.
8th February 2006

10 mile run or dance all night
Well. I don't know about that. There are reason why we run and don't do other things- perhaps a lack of dancing ability. However, perhaps we can schedue the donut run around it.
8th February 2006

Yay for danceing rather than 10 milers! Runs on the beach would also be a good suggestion, you poop! Just kidding, I love you and miss you and your joyousness! I wish you would not say things about your French being bad. AHHHH that makes me like lower than low on the French literacy scale. OK I am now resigned to being an ignoramus! God bless!
9th February 2006

nice!
MC Hammer!!! ALRIGHT! Like Emily, I am also rather jealous of the lunch on the beach. And while it has been abnormally warm for winter, it's gotten into the thirties over the past couple of days (and it didn't happen slowly, so it seems FREEZING!). But anyway, I'm so glad you're having such a good time and I love reading your journal updates. I'll write you a letter soon (your address is still on my mirror).
11th February 2006

Hmm....interesting
I think you would be really cool if you brought little weights to your next dance party so you can target certain muscle groups in your dances. That way all this frivolous youthful energy will be working for YOU. Boo ya! I am a little jelous and have just added Senegal to my "to do" list. Maybe even next year, who knows? Ne fais pas de pipi dans ton lit, ça rend les familles d'acceil très fachées.
12th February 2006

Give up sunday runs?????!!!
Haha. Dancing does sound like more fun than getting up and running 10 miles...but we could do both!!!!! Haha. I'm so glad your enjoying yourself and I miss your happy face! all I know in french is fromage: so eat lots and lots of fromage...haha. Love ya
13th February 2006

Dancing loosens you
Hey cuz, Glad to hear all is well and it sounds like you're happy. I'm jealous. I guess I can live vicariously abroad through others like you. I guess you won't be at the wedding for Jenna and I. You're no fun! I'll bet uncle Pete is awfully proud of you. It takes courage to do the things you tend to do. I'm sure you will be successful yet happy in life. I expect you to bring me home culture, knowledge, and ideas I'm not familiar with. That will be your souvenier(sp?). I wonder why you lose power so often. At least you won't be here when the Republicans get us all killed. Be safe and learn constantly, Cousin David
15th February 2006

serious studies
Thanks for the letter, but perhaps you should be more involved in your classes instead of writing people and hanging out at the beach. ;) Don't get stung by a rare african burrowing death beetle either. They prey on unmoving carcasses on the shoreline you bum.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb