Here I am!


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Dakar! This place is fantastic and I love it. We arrived early Monday morning and stayed at the guest house of the National Olympic Pool for the night (all the hotels were booked) and then were taken to our host family houses Tuesday. My host family is Catholic, although 95% of the country is Moslem. My host parents are a young couple named Anthone and Rosa Sarr, with a 15 month old daughter Carol-Louise. Also two of Rosa's cousins, Paul and Nabou (both in their twenties or thirties I'm pretty sure) live with us, and there are two live-in maids, Anima and Valerie, as well. They are all so nice! I'd put a picture on but I forgot to bring the photo software disc with me today. I have my own room, and there is electricity and running water (although both go out frequently). I can't wait for my french to improve! I can communicate with the family but I have to ask them to repeat a lot of stuff. I can't understand a word Paul says until about the third time I hear it.
Yesterday we went to Goree Island, a small island just off the coast that was an important strategic place in the slave trade, not only because it is the closest part of Africa to the Americas, but also because, being surrounded by water, it was effective in keeping slaves from escaping. Many people make a pilgrimage there. There's also a Women's Museum on Goree, which we visited, and already we have our first paper due - five pages on the role of women in Senegalese society. woo hoo! Wolof (an indigenous Senegalese language) classes start today, and our other classes start Monday. There are 15 other students here with my same program and they're all pretty enjoyable. And the program directors are fantastic.
A lot of things are different from what I expected. I thought it would be a lot like India, but it is quite a bit cleaner than Calcutta, and the traffic is much more orderly, and the beggars and vendors are much less aggressive. It seems more polite and chilled out here. Also, it is not hot! In fact in the mornings and evenings it has been chilly. Well, prob'ly in the 60s but it feels cold! It's pretty warm in the afternoons (70s and 80s).
Anyway, I'm out of time but just wanted to let you know I am alive and TRES, TRES CONTENT!! perhaps later I can get to an internet cafe and add to this.
bye!

Advertisement



26th January 2006

Thanks for the update
Christina-I'm so very proud of you for what you are doing with your life. Thanks for the update. I look forward to hearing more about your semester. Please know that you are in my prayers. God Bless You-Amy
26th January 2006

Choir is just not the same without you Christina! I am glad that you are enjoying yourself thus far! It sounds like you enjoy your host family too, which makes a world of difference I am sure! Enjoy your time there, can't wait to hear from you next! Have a great day!!
26th January 2006

Yo!
Hey Christina!!!! I'm so happy that you made it to Senegal safe and sound and that you are enjoying your time there. Your host family sounds great. I remember what it was like when I went to Spain to feel like your language skills aren't up to par ---- don't worry because I guarentee in about 2 weeks you'll be a pro and your ears and mind will be used to all the French. We definately miss ya here girl (Me siento mucho)...I can't let ya forget your spanish skills (-; Have a wonderful day...I'll be praying for ya girl! Peace! Stacey Taylor
26th January 2006

Hello From BC
I am soo happy you made it there safe.. Its so exciting to be in a foregin country and Africa seems so cool. Have a fabulous time and hope all goes well. Heidi
26th January 2006

Hey
Christina, My life has really changed without you here at Benedictine College. I hope that you enjoy your time there with classes and all. Are your classes all in french? I am so glad that you get to do this and to learn a foreign language is sometimes tuff to do but if you are interested in the language then I guess it is okay I suppose lol I miss you where have you gone? lol I can't pretend to "eat me" any more but just a reminder though lol well I can't wait for your update though Buenos dias
26th January 2006

Hey
I hope that you are enjoying your time there in Africa. Too bad you are not here because I really miss you but I can't do much about it. Good Luck with Classes and I hope that you have a good experience and learn FRENCH even though I am not a huge foreign language fan. I hope to find out what you are doing Stephanie " eat me" lol
26th January 2006

posh
So much for suffering in a foreign country, myabe you should have gone to Haiti or something. Twinkle twinkle.
26th January 2006

Hey!
Hey Nina! My God, it's been too long. I am so excited for you that you have this opportunity. I've always wanted to go to Africa. Sounds like your host family is awesome, and knowing you (Ms. Overachiever), you'll be just fine with your French skills. I am so jealous of you, but just know that I'm always thinking about you and praying for you! Enjoy lucky duck! Love ya!
28th January 2006

hey christina i hope your enjoying your time in senegal. the way you wrote this entry seems to me that you are very excited and anxious of being there. i will be praying for you and like i said enjoy your time over there.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb