Senegalese Sabar Dancing


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=MHH8cLESbko]My aunt, Charlene, recently asked me about the kinds of dances that are popular in Senegal. By far, the most popular dance is called Sabar. Their are no words to describe this dance and once you take a look at the video you will understand what I mean. People do this dance to the beat of the Sabar drum. It is an intricate balancing act done at high speed and quite intimidating for a novice dancer like me. However, it is undoubtedly fun to watch and when I am home alone I give it a try (but NEVER in the presence of other people)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb