Yes, I did in fact "Track the Mountain Gorillas"!


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda
January 24th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes, that's a worried look on my face!Yes, that's a worried look on my face!Yes, that's a worried look on my face!

That would be the silverback, the head male, chilling out behind me in the middle of a bambo rainforest at the base of a volcano in Rwanda! :oD
Okay so we're back at the same campsite in Kampala, Uganda as last week (ie. no USB hookup = no pictures) but I'm labelling this post as The Gorilla Post. As soon as I get to a better computer, i will update this post with more mountain gorilla pictures than you can handle!

So, in a nutshell: it was a stunning experience. Literally! I think i spent the whole time wide-eyed and mouth gaping open :o) We got so close to them! When i imagined this whole "sit with the gorillas thing" i imagined us hiding behind some trees, looking at them eating about 200 metres away, but no! At times we got close enough to touch, but we couldnt of course because they can easily catch human diseases. They were so nonchalant (Scott: thats the word! :oP) about us being there, watching them! We even saw the silverback mating!!! It was all very cool.

There was a point however where i felt we were being a bit intrusive, following them around like a pest. But only one or two groups of 6 people are allowed to see any one group of gorillas in a day, and only for
Gorillas, gorillas, gorillasGorillas, gorillas, gorillasGorillas, gorillas, gorillas

I was so surprised how close they let us get
1 hour. We saw the Sabinyo mountain group (Sabinyo means Old Mans Tooth because of the jagged shape of the top of the mountain) but actually the Sabinyo is a dormant volcano (in Volcano National Park, Rwanda!) if you want to be super technical about things :o)

At the end, tired and sweaty, and covered in jungle dirt, we returned to the base camp for our certificate in mountain gorilla trekking! An yes, I bought the souvineer t-shirt too :oD

Okay well i should really get going because there's a lineup for this computer and i feel bad that i'm taking so much time. Tomorrow is the Nile River!! I have decided instead of white water rafting, i will do the tandem kayaking! it's a little cheaper ;o) I decided that it didnt really matter WHAT i did, as long as i get a little Nile water in my hair!

So! Wish me luck on my kayak rolls tomorrow (i'm scared!) and the next time i post will probably be when i get back to Nairobi, which is on the 27th.

Ciao everyone! Janine




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



31st January 2007

Rwanda
Those pictures are great and a keeper! The one with you in it;I had a difficult time figuring out which one was yourself and which one was the Gorilla??????? Enjoy the rest of your days there and we shall see you soon

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb