Rwanda Vision Trip: Day 6


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Ville de Kigali » Kigali
January 14th 2010
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today started with my last bucket shower (I think!) - too much cold water in my mix today.

Breakfast was an egg scramble (onions, tomatoes, and several eggs) the size of a 10 inch skillet with bread, jam, and tea.

Then we were off to the Ndengera center where we videotaped the adoptive parents of several of the orphans. Actually this was done by Pastor Simon’s “cameraman” while we talked about the chapel and school. Simon would like us to build the chapel when we come so that they can use this for the students, but also try to rent it out as a meeting facility, or for weddings. This would generate income for the orphans, and possibly help complete more classrooms sooner. I now have a better idea of what the vision is for the Ndengera Fondation. Dr. Chris was a little concerned about the weight of those cement blocks (from the Canadian team video), and I shared that with Simon, who promptly asked me to pick up a block and see if I could do it. I would say that they weigh no more than a 25 pound weight at the gym, possibly less. You can do it, Chris! - OK weight lifting is now added to the agenda for Saturday’s meeting!

I was once again mauled by the children once I brought the camera out. The frustrating thing was that they kept making these weird poses - crouching down, making grim or menacing faces and putting their arms out in some of the strangest positions. I had a hard time communicating that I wanted just them to stand and smile. I did eventually get some of the kids to pose standing up, and I also think I managed to get some candid shots of some kids. That is REALLY hard since most of the kids come running shouting “Muzungu!” when they see the camera or flash from a distance. (Note to you photographers that have not been to Africa or the likes: You may want to use a flash all the time, even in bright daylight because the dark skin of the Rwandans will not show much facial detail if you do not).

We had lunch and then was the 3-1/2 to 4 hour car trip back to Kigali. We drove around for a while trying to find the right area, even though we had an “address” then we circled several blocks trying to find #46 since the houses are numbered, but not in a typical order. You will have descending and then ascending numbers as you drive down the street. And all the 90’s are on one side while the 100’s are on the other side. (Not odds on one side and evens on the other).

Tomorrow sounds packed with visitations and meetings with people from African New Life Ministries. This sounds like a great ministry and hopefully something we may be able to integrate into Gisenyi - down the road. I did get yet another shock after dinner tonight: We have to apply to be credentialed as doctors in Rwanda, a process that takes several months. So Chris, you may be right, we will all get a chance to lift bricks - that may be ALL we are doing!

I know that God can do all things, and I need to trust him, but quite frankly - I like things orderly and neat - and preferably planned out well in advance. God continues to stretch me. Pretty soon I will have to start going by Gumby (OK - you people my age are going to have to explain that one to some of the younger folk).

Signing out for now, more updates to come tomorrow.
Jim


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb