Kigali


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Ville de Kigali » Kigali
January 10th 2008
Published: January 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jan 10,2008 Hey everyone I've made it to kigali before yesterday at night made connections through brussels and arriving here at about 8pm. I was a little nerves at first considering the embassy said I should have gotten a visa before coming.... but as luck would have it i met another Brasilian in the immigration line(she informs me that there's only about 10 registered brasilians in rwanda so I think i was really lucky) and she said not to worry so I didnt, paid $60 and got through in no time...immigration officials very helpful here...She works for a an NGO here and we should be meeting to go out this weekend.

Hoped on a cab went off to my hostel....couldnt go to sleep because i was so excitedm so i went to the bar and got wasted on local beer with another guest here.... he has invited me to go visit his house and meet his wife and children when i head west to lake kivu.

Yesterday I walked around the city by myself for a while and of course I forgot my Idiot Guides to French book of course....which might be a blessilng is disguise because i seem to have a lot more fun and when i have to point and make gestures and vise versa undersatnding their gestures.....people here are soo nice...i waved at a little girl in the morning on her way to chool and she just about died from laughing and ran to her brothers........By 10am i was already in drunk with a girl i met( i think she was the proffesional kind of friend) ......then i left her came back to the hostel and got hammered with the bartender receptionist and the waitress here at the hostel...........................Then i took a moto taxi to the Genocide memorial, which was sad and beautiful at the same time....theres about 13 mass graves there...and history of all major genocides of the 20th century.....I met a born again christian the from kenya who was taking his neighbors son from Uganda to visit the memorial and we talked for a few hours and went to town together......its was so amazing how people would stare at me and the children would come up to me and shake my hand...i was embarresed at first but got over it soon. I've been to southern africa before but Moses, the born again, told me here they're not use to seeing "white people" who arent priests and there was no real influx of europeans during colony years like in the southern countries so they wonder why we would come here for vacationing and not some resort......went to eat dinner in some back alley by my hostel and i had the greatest time trying to order chicken, when i finally did get to order it i saw the man walking with my meal screaming and flapping on its way to the kitchen.

All and all im having a great time its 10am on the tenth here and im about to go get drunk with the girls here at the hostel again...going to the churches.....will post pics as soon as i figure out how to.....peace out everyone


Advertisement



11th January 2008

FUN
I'm so glad u are having a good time!~ sorry to hear about ur french book. and sorry that I have not been of great help.. but just make sure u say.. MERCI!!! hahaha anyhow... love you and miss you!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb