To the Heart of Africa


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Ville de Kigali » Kigali
September 19th 2007
Published: September 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

THE PHOTOTHE PHOTOTHE PHOTO

This is the photo that almost got me arrested.

Getting Closer


From London to Nairobi, Kenya

After the layover in London, we flew to Nairobi. Apparently I was a little too naive to know that you just do not take photographs in the airport at Nairobi, Kenya. I had taken several when we got off the plane -- on the tarmac, the old-fashioned way, coming down the stairs in the outdoors. We stood in a very long line for our transfer boarding passes, so I thought I would just get a few photos of the people and sights. WRONG!!!

There was also a little issue that one of my bags had gotten lost from London to Nairobi. Of course, I couldn't go looking for it because I was not going through customs. The gate agent told me she would go check for my bags and would give me the luggage receipts, and I was to come back to her counter and a certain time. I came back, a few minutes early. She told me to wait. There was no place to sit, so I stood and waited. Again I took a picture, but this time a very tall, official security agent (female) came up the stairs and told
Arrival in KenyaArrival in KenyaArrival in Kenya

Here is our arrival in Kenya. What fun to disembark the plane on the stairs.
me I could be arrested for take photos "inside the lounge." I did not argue with her, even though I was thinking that there were no signs anywhere saying that photos were forbidden, or that one could be arrested for such a violation.

So, a word to the wise: Don't take photos at the Jomo Kenyata Airport in Nairobi, Kenya. They take such things very seriously, even if you are just a very innocent, bored, and jet-lagged tourist. Here are my awful photos.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Government VIP LoungeGovernment VIP Lounge
Government VIP Lounge

Need I say more?
Long LinesLong Lines
Long Lines

This was our very long line to get a transfer boarding pass to travel from Nairobi, Kenya to Kigali, Rwanda.
Kigali Int'l AirportKigali Int'l Airport
Kigali Int'l Airport

Finally ------- Kigali, Rwanda


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb