A day in the life.....


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Province de L'Est
January 26th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Its not the sun that wakes me, - my room being west facing, but an army of men running (very slowly I might add) past my window at half five shouting encouragement to themselves as they go. This tends to be weekends and I’m told the school choir practice early on weekends too so that should be a nice change! During the week it tends to be Cykabare the houseboy who is busy doing something. But in all honestly I love being up early because it means I can go to sleep early!!
I tend to get up at six or quarter past and do some skipping or pilates before it gets too hot. I only dare do the skipping outside as this brings an audience as it is. Getting warmed up tends to help with washing in cold water at that time of the morning especially if I decide to wash my hair!
The whole of Rwanda and his wife get up before six, this being the coolest most pleasant time of day and so it makes a change from 6am at home! People are already walking past the house carrying all their produce to the market by bike or on their heads.
Work is scheduled to start at 8am and so can do so from any time between then and 10 am and go through til lunch 11.30-12ish. We have a nice long lunch - though even living in France hasn’t trained me into lunches this long. Work in the afternoon is slow and everyone is tired by 4 or so, so we call it a day.
I tend to toodle into town and use the internet or go for a fanta, or just wander round town for a while after work making sure I’m home by six to cover up and put on deet to avoid being eaten alive by mosquitos because I’m normally the one who gets eaten alive (unless I’m with Dave and then it’s him!).
We tend to eat round 8ish and often have a game or two afterwards before hitting the sack between nine and nine thirty (perfect for granny jess!). I have been sleeping so well and feel a certain safety being surrounded by my mosquito net not least to keep the mosquitos out but to ensure that the resident house gecko in my room stays well clear of me in the night!


Advertisement



31st January 2010

Gecko...
Got a good chuckle at the thought of a gecko trying to snuggle into bed with you in the middle of the night! xxx

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb