Reunion Island


Advertisement
Reunion's flag
Africa » Reunion » Reunion
March 30th 2008
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cilaos CalderaCilaos CalderaCilaos Caldera

View of the Cilaos caldera
Today, I set about exploring the narrow roads inside the Cilaos caldera. By noonish, the clouds had descended again, and I began to feel rain drops. In the interest of staying dry, I cut short the explorations and made my way back to the hotel for more rhum. While reading my guide book, I noticed a section that mentioned,”Avoid travelling to the cirques during times of typhoons, as frequent landslides occur from the excessive rainfalls, causing the towns to be sealed off for days.” A little too late for that now! Reunion Island is known for its prodigious amounts of rainfall, holding world records for 12 hours, 24 hours, 1 week, 1 month, and 1 year totals.




Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Mountain RoadMountain Road
Mountain Road

Road inside the Cilaos caldera.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb