Exploring the coast of Nigeria


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria » Niger Delta
May 20th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SunriseSunriseSunrise

Halfway through my shift I get to see alot of cool sunrises
I've been having quite an interesting time out here when I'm not busy working off the coast. I have spent a good three weeks in and about Escravos and a small time in Badagry. Escravos is a bit different from Port Harcourt and Lagos, and it is definately an *oil* town now, with a good size seaport and airport nearby.

Both Escravos and Badagry were key ports in the slave trade from what I understand from talking to various people whom I work with and my cab drivers. Unfortuantely I did not visit any of the museems and historical sites devoted to this when I was onshore wandering around. Even though there are markets everywhere, I havent bought anything yet. If I head into Ghanna, I hear they have some great things to buy.

Most of my time was spent wandering the shorelines, and checking out the little pocket villages when I had spare moments from work. Oh and relaxing lots! Most of my pictures will also be of these sites. I can only put up so much even though I've taken a ton. Plus the internet is about as speedy as a sloth on drugs.

I spent
Bit of EscravosBit of EscravosBit of Escravos

Road side shot
a couple of days and when the weather was good I took of from my group to see the sights. I got a bit scared since I dropped my camera while walking up some stairs, but it survived. I'm such a klutz sometimes. The place I was staying at had tasty food, and even through a party complete with a roasted pig. In fact, most of the local food I have tried isn't bad at all.

It is rainy season now, and I have witnessed some of the most incredible storms with booming loud thunder and crazy lightning. Wether I'm getting a ride through a storm, or sitting on a ship at night, it is quite awe inspiring to see. Because of this and the constant cloud covered sky, I have managed to get some nice scenic pictures of sunrises. A little slice of beauty compared to all the ugly oil stacks, gas fires, and other installations littering the sea horizon around me. Unfortunately due to all the nasty weather, my internet connection is bad, so updating this blog with pictures, or even checking my email takes forever.

Being from the middle of nowhere Canada, this heat just
More of EscravosMore of EscravosMore of Escravos

Another shot from the cab
plan sucks. Even with a strong wind at night, it is still 30+ degrees out. Ah well, eventually I will get used to it! The barge I'm on has a bit of a cockroach and rat problem, and the heat seems to encourage the bugs. No mysquitoes around though which is good.

This shall be a short entry since I don't feel like talking much about work, and I'm sure noone wants to hear about it. Hopefully the next entries will be about Ghana. I may even be heading into Gabon too, should work ditate it. More sites to see!

Till next time 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

More of EscravosMore of Escravos
More of Escravos

Yet another shot from the cab
EscravosEscravos
Escravos

Me walking around with my camera taking pictures
Good viewGood view
Good view

Nice road compared to some
Roadside stallsRoadside stalls
Roadside stalls

Typical view when travelling through the smaller villages. Reminds me of Port Harcourt.
Badagry coastBadagry coast
Badagry coast

View from a boat
Badagry coastBadagry coast
Badagry coast

Palm trees galore
Badagry coastBadagry coast
Badagry coast

More coastline
Good viewGood view
Good view

Nice road compared to some
Badagry coastBadagry coast
Badagry coast

Nice beach
Mmmm tasty!Mmmm tasty!
Mmmm tasty!

Had a giant feast at the place I was staying at!
FishermenFishermen
Fishermen

Saw these alot when I went to port
FishermenFishermen
Fishermen

More fishermen
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

Pretty
MeMe
Me

Uhuh
Phil and YazPhil and Yaz
Phil and Yaz

My good buddies who I work with, from Ireland and Malaysia
:):)
:)

Yup, pretty self explanitory
PortPort
Port

Some port that was there


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb