Day 16: Etosha NP - Waterberg Plateau


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Waterberg
August 27th 2012
Published: November 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today continued yesterday's theme of being stinking hot. We did a quick game drive as we were leaving the park, but no one was really in the mood, it was so hot early and we had already seen a lot yesterday so we pushed on. As we got nearer and nearer to Waterberg Plateau it became noticably cooler. Once we arrived and set up camp, most people ventured off to scale the plateau, however I didn't. Along with Ray, Kim and Astrid, I went to the campsite pool. It wasnt that easy however, as it involved climbing a bit of the plateau just to get there. Once there we jumped straight in.... and back out. The pool was so cold!! I headed back to camp to have a showever before everyone else got back. I also headed to the store to buy a postcard to send to Nan, and also some chocolate. I have missed chocolate up until now. It was on this little adventure that I came across a Dik-Dik near reception. A Dik-Dik is a small antelope, and even as a non animal person, I couldn't help thinking it was cute.

Turns out Kim had been having a few beers at the pool after I left, and sitting around dinner, he added a few entries to the "Kimtionary". Kim is prone to mis pronouncing things, especially names, so after a few beers he was a veritable gold mine!

This was all cut short though when some rain came in. We all packed up dinner very quickly and headed to bed, only for the rain to pass in about two minutes. By this sage I was already in my sleeping bag so I decided to stay there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb