Day 9: Fish River Canyon - Sesreim


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Sesriem
August 20th 2012
Published: October 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One thing I forgot to mention in yesterday's blog was the landscape of Namibia. It is vast nothingness, but it is so beautiful. The sky is blue, the ground is brown and there is a perfectly horizontal (or so it seems) horizon. It just seems like you are driving from nowhere, going nowhere and it's never going to end.

Today we were heading to Sesreim, which is the "base camp" for Sossusvlei, and includes such attractions as Dune 45 and Deadvlei. Anyway, we arrived at camp around 3pm, so Riccardo and I headed out for another photography session. In the area around our camp there was a savannah plain area that we wandered through, taking photos, trying to be all "artistic" with our photos. I don't know how arty the photos actually turned out, but it gave me a good chance to play around with the settings on my camera without worrying about missing "the shot", since there was nothing in particular we were shooting, just the scenery.

After dinner we headed to the bar (I think this will be a recurring theme). On the way there Angela, Carmen and I took some time to just look up. The stars in the sky were so clear. It was amazing. I had never seen so many stars before, it's amazing how much light pollution affects what we see. I also saw something I had never seen before with the naked eye; the Milky Way. It was stunning. I wish I had have had my camera with me, but I'm sure there will be more opportunities to take photos of the night sky.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb