AFRICA: SAFARI SCARE


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Kaokoland
December 1st 2006
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Brazilian HavainasMy Brazilian HavainasMy Brazilian Havainas

Confortavelmente me deixaram pisar em muitos solos africanos, com remendo na perna, fitinha de senhor do Bomfim, e tudo mais
DAY 3:
Elias' wake up call at 5:45am sounded like music to my ears. Happy as one rested person could be, I announced outloud that I'd gotten a full-night of sleep: 7 hrs straight! My recharged body won't have to run on adrenaline rush any more.
A quick cup of coffee and to the bush we go again by 6:15am. The sunrise was gorgeous and the picts for that morning I've sent already.
Breakfast was a delight to the Brits and Germans: eggs, bacon, baked beans(!!), ketchup (!!). I kept to the basics, off course, which was delicious, anyway.

The whole day was spent driving through thebumping and dusty roads by the Etosha pan, and under the 38C African sun, I felt I was being cooked for a draai, Namibian barbecue. My arms are deep red and burning like hell.

The animals, appearing everywhere, including middle of the road, kept as happilly enthusiastic. Many 3 to 4 month old youngesters cuddling with their moms make us all do the "ohhhhh!!!".
It's nice to know that this incredible nat. park has been arround since the 60's and still remains wild. (have I told this already?) The animals have maintained most
Best Shower facility everBest Shower facility everBest Shower facility ever

natural hot water and all
of their instictive fear of us humans, and they live their lives hunting, eating, running, fearing, sleeping, surviving or dying.

NATURE"S SURPRISE:
We arrive at Okaukuejo and right after ours tents are set and the fire started, and than, the unexpected: black clouds, loud thundering, lightening.
Nature had a surprise up it's sleaves, and I found myself pretty helpless under a 2.5 hour long severe thunder storm. Tents flying, people screaming, tree branches cracking, marked my last night in Etosha National park. I watch the worse of the storm from the shower room window, where I was lucky to have been when it started.
Amazinlgy, the fire kept on burning and after all, we had another delicious dinner. Small winter squash, cooked with peel on and cinammon was my favorite! Still a little scared, as the night on a wet sleeping bag on a tent wsa still to come, and without access to the weather forecast, we ended another eventfull day.
We all came out okay and with more memories to feel our collection of amazing ones created during this safari so far.
Ah! I also found a mosquito bite on my leg I am not happy about, since this is a high risk for malaria area.
Oh, well. I'll be okay. How could I not be, right.
Love
Patricia




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Big safari truckBig safari truck
Big safari truck

21 people on this one, for 3 months. No way!!
HUGE size safari truckHUGE size safari truck
HUGE size safari truck

39 people on this one, sleep coffin-style truck is pulled by a bus
Havainas, as unicas brasileiras por aquiHavainas, as unicas brasileiras por aqui
Havainas, as unicas brasileiras por aqui

Muitas, de todas as cores, em pes de europeus. Orgulhosamente, eu tinha que dizer que era da minha terra.
View from precious facilityView from precious facility
View from precious facility

No holes on the ground at all. Namibians' way to go is soooo much better than Chinese/Japanese/Tibetan
Damara Dik DikDamara Dik Dik
Damara Dik Dik

Smallest antelope


5th December 2006

Envy
Hey Patricia Thanks for including the pictures. They are wonderful. Makes me wish I were there as well. I'm envious. Have a GREAT time and I am anticipating your next installment. Chester
6th December 2006

hoje lhe vi
entao pelo jeito minha andarilha ta amando outra vez suas aventuras né? e ai qual e quando e o proximo destino? entrarei outra vez amanha. aproveite como sempre ao maximo. sinto saudades, desta vez maiores que as de sempre. beijos de quem sempre te ama. PI
6th December 2006

Oi Pi
Compartilho com vc no pensagmento, minha irma-amiga. Tanta coisa, tanto de tudo... beijos, vou clicando por aqui, sempre dizendo que a fotogra mesmo eh minha irma. Beijos e beijos Pi
6th December 2006

Hi Chester
So nice to know you are "traveling" along. It has been incredible, and I wish my dear ones could be here too. love, Patricia

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb