My turn to say goodbye to South Africa, but Olá to Mozambique, and the beauty of Vilanculos Sunday 20th August – Monday 27th August


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Vilanculos
August 28th 2012
Published: August 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning was spent packing and preparing for the next stage of my African journey… I then went to Thyme Square (one of our favourite cafés) with Ruth, Ian and Sarah for a final morning latté. We’ve become such good friends over the past few weeks, and saying goodbye was sad, but amidst the hugs and a few tears we also made promises to meet again for a reunion at Christmas.

My flight to Johannesburg was (thankfully) straightforward and I spent a relaxing evening at the hotel before having an early night, ready for my 6am. airport transfer . I arrived in Vilanculos on Monday afternoon, and it feels amazing to be back. As many people who have spent time here will understand, Vilanculos is a special place. Even after all my other brilliant travel experiences, there’s nothing like the contentment and joy I feel every time I return to this beautiful beach town.

From Tuesday to Thursday last week, I caught up with many of my friends- either on pre-arranged visits or during my walk through town and meeting people that I know (previous students I have taught, contacts from volunteering with African Impact, friends I made when staying at Aguia Negra). Everyone I know welcomes me back as if I have never left, and I feel very settled here.

I also had a fantastic morning at the pre-school last Wednesday! It was great to see Eddie, as always, and Zacarias remembered that I had taught him at the adult English classes in 2010; he is definitely one of African Impact’s big success stories. After finishing the adult English classes with African Impact, he was accepted at the IFP- a teacher training college on the outskirts of Vilanculos- where he trained as an English teacher. He graduated from the college in December, and has now joined the team of teachers working at Escolinha de Boa Esperanca.

It was brilliant to be with the children again, and to help Eddie and Zacarias with some teaching! Many of the children also remembered and recognised me, which was really special and despite my rewarding volunteer experience in St. Lucia, nothing compares to a morning at the pre-school here!

In the early hours of Friday morning, I left Vilanculos for a trip to Tofo- another beautiful beach town South of Vilanculos. It was a long journey; first by bus to Maxixe, then a boat across to Inhambane and finally a small bus to Tofo, but totally worth it! Tofo is a much smaller town than Vilanculos, with tourist beach lodges and restaurants along the beach front, a small market and a long stretch of sand that sweeps round to form a cove, perfect for surfers. I spent a relaxing day on the beach on Saturday enjoying the sun, scenery and watching the surfers tackle some impressive waves!

I travelled back to Vilanculos on Sunday and despite the long journey, I love travelling across Mozambique. It’s great to mix with the locals on the buses, even if the conditions are cramped, and I often had a small child sitting on me, bags everywhere and live chickens sharing the ride! (Imagine the health and safety issues if it was England…) I love driving through the small communities and seeing the ever-changing, beautiful scenery of Mozambique.

It’s these experiences that really make me think ‘THIS is Africa’, and cause me to reflect on my life in England. I do feel very fortunate to have experienced a Westernised upbringing, but it’s amazing how easily I fall back into the African lifestyle and how ‘alien’ life in England begins to feel. Although it will be lovely to see friends and family when I return at Christmas, I’m already anticipating how strange it will feel to be back in a Westernised environment.

This will be my last blog entry from Southern Africa. I will be extremely sad to leave Vilanculos tomorrow, but I’m also excited to see another part of this incredible continent and start my teaching in Ghana, as well as chasing up various contacts I have made in Mozambique to secure myself a job here for the near future!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb