Alive in Tofo


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Tofo
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My absence of 2 days can be explained by illness, and yes, I thought I was going to die! Who knows what bug I caught or where I caught it? Conditions are not sanitary here, really, I've been sharing bathrooms and bedrooms and regulators etc....so I caught something. I became so ill I actually called the manager to get a doctor for me. That is not done here, but Steve, the owner of the dive shop Peri Peri, and his wife Martina, the volunteer I have mentioned regarding the orphanage, were at Casa Do Mar visiting the owners. Steve tested me for malaria, Katie brought pills for temperature, they iced me down, and gave me electrolytes. The hospital is the last resort, here. I am now off to get Randy at the Inhambane airport, so I will add more to this entry later. Oh, they saw a whale shark yesterday, the first one since I've been here, and of course I was sick. They are out right now with a spotter plane to see if they can find them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb