Amiziz


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
June 22nd 2005
Published: July 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Berber VillageBerber VillageBerber Village

The destination of our cart ride. A tiny Berber village situated right up high and isolated in the mountains. They are without electricy but have a waterfall to take showers in!
Geo: 31.3336, -7.46745

3 hours away from Marrakech, in a lovely Berber village in The Atlas Mountains. I became very attached to this place. had a wonderful time wandering through the mountains, through the fields of wild flowers, past the waterfalls and the donkies taking a picnic of fresh fish. The villagers were all extremely friendly and welcoming. I drank lots of mint tea! My principle bonding experience with the locals was when i decided to visit the local haram (public baths) for a clean up. Quite an experience! Huge ladies poking and rubbing me whilst I starred in shock at the amount of dirt coming off me!! It's a real social gathering there, the hubb of all gossip and apparently the prime place for wife hunting for their sons!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cart rideCart ride
Cart ride

I asked for a donkey ride and I got a horse and carriage! It was a hair-raising experience. I can't believe how strong that horse was and that we didn't fall off the edge of the mountain!
HennaHenna
Henna

I had my hands and feet henna tatooed by the neighbours' daughter. I had to be very patient waiting for it to dry!
Man on donkeyMan on donkey
Man on donkey

An extremely common sight. Donkies are everywhere!
Riding through the mountainsRiding through the mountains
Riding through the mountains

'She'll be Coming Round the Mountain when she comes....'!! Yee-hah!


Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb