Morocco Life


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
May 28th 2014
Published: July 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Morocco in 2 weeks


This was my first solo out of the country trip in which I planned to couch surf the country and figure out how to get around. Upon my arrival I happened to struggle a bit as I lost my wallet containing my ID, a bogus credit card and about $60 dollars, but even more of a headache, my airline left my luggage back in the states - thanks American airlines. I made do, and thankfully got my luggage back 3 days later, in which, my trip would officially begin. I started my journey in Casablanca whom my first contact met me and guided me to my hostel but was no longer able to host me the next day. So I went to my plan B - Hamdi, who was more than happy to host me in his home for a few days in the capital, Rabat. Rabat is a super clean, chill, unique city - getting lost and found, my journey was getting interesting. Eventually, my overall plan in Morocco took a turn as I had originally planned to head in to Tarifa, Spain, so I could speak the language, however plans had been re-routed to Marrakech and the Sahara desert. I was running short on time because of the delay getting my luggage back, Hamdi suggested that I should see the Sahara, as he could set me up with his good friend in Marrakesh to stay with, whom also help set up my trip into the desert. Marrakesh was the tourist trap as snake charmers, chicken dancers, and music from every corner hypnotizing the night.

The Sahara (Merzouga)- magical, hot, cold and void. Everyone sometime in their life should make it here. Big dunes of sand showed their weight and changed their appearance daily. We rode camels deep into the desert, smoked the hookah, told stories and bobbed our heads to the traditional sounds from the drums as the stars lingered above.

My journey would begin to wind down in the old city of Fez. My new friend, Driss, whom I met in the airport, met me in Fez and helped me find a hotel for a couple nights also gave me a tour of the old city. This is probably my favorite city for it's richness in age.

In the end, I would return back to Casablanca to meet another friend, Imane, who I met on my second day in Morocco and she would host me in her home for a couple nights. I wasn't thrilled with Casablanca, it's one of those ways points to another.

Until we meet again Morocco...


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb