So far. So good?


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
March 6th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Disclaimer: these are purely my own views and do not reflect that of the United States of America nor the Peace Corps.

Hello Everybody,

I wanted to wait until my nerves had settled a little before I started an entry. Time has seemed to warp because it feels like I have been here a very long time, however, since the 2nd I have more frightened then I have ever been and moved onto a cautious content. The tide began to turn when I started to get really interested in what we learning. I have been trying to stay busy walking around town and studying.

Some of the highlights thus far have been:
my 70 year old international plane seat mate forewarning me about 9/11 attacks on us
taking an hour long class (with quiz) about diarrhea
leading class in an Arabic song
roofing it at night, looking at stars so close and mountains so tall and snowy
becoming friends with my Moroccan language teachers
being harassed by little boys in the market
made friends with 4 Fatima's
and got a free orange!
met the ambassador to Morocco!

Surprisingly I have only had to have 2 shots and that is it! For 3 days that is enough. I am still adjusting so I will write more when I move to my homestay site and actually live with a Moroccan family. Photos coming soon

Advertisement



8th March 2009

Go Laurel!
Great to hear you made it ok to Morocco - I'm definitely looking forward to hearing more. That cracks me up about the diarrhea quiz! Laurel the Camel says "hi"!
9th March 2009

That is radical, I wish you all the best luck in the world. Are you in the southern hemisphere there? If so that is one of the things I would love to see before I die, they have a completely different set of constellations.
9th March 2009

Hey Laurel- So glad everything's going well. I can't wait to see pictures. I miss you!!! Megan PS: did you pass the diarrhea quiz??
9th March 2009

Exciting!
Hey Laurel! Sounds like your trip is quite an adventure already! Can't wait for your updates!
19th April 2009

passed it and have had it! love you!!
19th April 2009

no I am about as far North as Florida, but the stars are amazing here being there are few street lights and usually no clouds.
19th April 2009

Yay! I know you will treat the camel good:)
10th May 2009

Hi from Avenue D
Hi Laurel! Glad to hear things are going good so far. The adventure, I'm sure, seems unreal right now. Miss Max and I were wondering what kinds of birds they have there. It would be weird not seeing a robin. :) (the weird things you wonder about...) Quite a change of wildlife. You are missed, you are blessed, and you are making a small corner of the world a better place :) THANK YOU! Stay safe, and embrace the experience. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Love, Max, Jennifer and Miss Max

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb