From Marrakech to Taroudannt


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss » Taroudannt
May 16th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Bus ride from Marrakech to Taroudannt 8 secs
En RouteEn RouteEn Route

Rest Stop somewhere between Marrakech and Taroudannt
The Imam is having some technical difficulties for the 7:30 pm Call to Prayer. I'm sitting on my roof terrace watching the main square in this authentic Moroccan town. A long day --- last night I downloaded pictures, chatted with Al, and had snails in the central square of Marrakech. Woke up at 7:30 am, for breakfast soup (no spoon given this time) then off to the bus. Met what I thought was a couple from Switzerland named Jean-Claude and Noemi. It turns out she’s his 20 year old daughter. Eight hour bus/taxi ride to Taroudannt through the High Atlas Mountains. I later found out that these weren't the High Atlases (People here don’t seek their own seats on the bus when many are available. I guess personal space isn’t as valued. Also most aren’t 6’4’’)

Noemi seems to like me, too bad her pops is around. Didn’t email my mom or Deb as I don’t want to set a precedent of frequent emails. I contemplated lying to my mom to ease her worries.

For dinner: Shish Taouk plate with Al Jazera. I’m wearing my Malaysia soccer jersey tonight --- I hope people don’t think it’s a US
En Route2En Route2En Route2

From a bus window between Marrakech and Taroudannt
flag. I took Myfloquin tonight! It’s dark now, going to the Souks tomorrow.

Am I paranoid? Chatting with a Berber named Muhammad Isa. He was extremely nice offering to take me to the souks tomorrow or even take a walk around town tonight. He’s staying at the hotel, although he claims to work at a farm 20 minutes away? Also when an old Moroccan man I met on the bus showed up, Muhammad Isa seemed very disappointed. He’s no longer talkative. One interesting thing he said was that the Berbers are friends with the Israelis and that the two languages (Berber and Hebrew) are similar. I still don’t trust him!! Must avoid.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb