Arrival in Marrakech


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a terrifying taxi ride from the airport to the Medina I was all set to find my accomodation for the night, the Hotel Afriquia. Things did not start well, a tout began to pester me and follow me around, refusing to go away, no matter how many times I said no. In a bid to try and loose him, I ended up getting completely lost, wandering the tight, maze-like streets wondering what the hell I was thinking in choosing Morocco as my first solo travel destination. It would be a whole sweaty and tiring hour before I turned a corner and to my relief, found the hotel.

Fortunately, the hotel was the charming delight I had been hoping for, a smattering of mismatched, patterned tiles along the walls, the rooms looking into a cool central core and a glorious sun baked roof terrace. The view was amazing, the mountains could be faintly seen in the background beyond Marrakech's skyline, littered with mudbrick buildings of all shapes and many minarets jutting out.

After a little time recovering from my lack of sleep the previous night, and my wanderings, I would head out to the Medina.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb