Marrakech -> home


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A few of us leaving Marrakech later in the day walked to Menara Garden in the morning, a popular local hangout. We unknowingly took the less scenic route through the industrial area on the way over but its lagoon and villa-style pavilion offered a peaceful retreat. The view of the snow-capped Atlas Mountains in the background was incredible; too bad it was a bit hazy that day.

We walked back along Mohammed VI Ave. It is lined with well-manicured shrubs, flowers, and has many high end hotels and very expensive cars. I had my last Moroccan chicken couscous served in a tagine for lunch, relaxed a bit by the hotel pool before heading to the Marrakech train station. It is very modern and my train to Casablanca departed on time. I booked first class because I could reserve early but I think second class would have been fine too.

The entire trip to the Casablanca Mohammed V Airport was uneventful but I still couldn’t understand why there was a security check at the entrance from the train station into the airport. It was a good thing I changed my Dirhams back to USD at the airport as at all
P1020647P1020647P1020647

High Atlas Mountains in the background
the check points I was asked if I was carrying Dh - apparently illegal. I had to pull out my wallet each time to show them that I didn’t have any Dh.

After another 24hr+ of travelling I finally made it home. It was nice to be sleeping in my own bed but I wished I was still travelling!

Memorable experiences from this trip included sleeping under the stars in the desert, camel riding, trying out a hammam, tagines, mint tea and “special price for you, my friend!”



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

slow train back to Casablanca then home


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb