From Marrakech to Tinerhir Through the Beautiful Atlas Mountains


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Marrakech
December 26th 2007
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

How busy and lively is Marrakech! The new part of the city has well planed streets, gardens and monumental buildings. In the old medina the traffic is as chaotic as it gets with locals and tourists negotiating narrow roads with bicycles, cars, scooters sounding their horns at all times plus stalls, street vendors and snake charmers competing to draw people's attention!

In the evenings the air in the main square is filled with steam and all sorts of frying and cooking smells as the food stalls get really busy. I saw a man washing dishes in a barrel the first night and promised myself I would not eat there, but I did not resist the tempting smell of fried squids and aubergines the second night. The food was delicious!

I wondered on my own for a few days through narrow, unpaved streets dodging the traffic, saying 'non mercy' to all sorts of offers. I had so far been glad I had managed december without the usual Christmas fuss but on the 23rd I missed the glitter, the carols and observing the cold day outside Alex's kitchen window in London as we prepared last year's Christmas lunch together.

On the 24th my Canadian friends Kris and Lawrence made my Moroccan Christmas unforgettable. We met in the main square and after coffee and catching up with each other's news they took me to dinner at Marrakech's most atmospheric restaurant. What a privilege! I hope I can return the courtesy in London, Rio or wherever we meet next time!

I left Marrakech early on boxing day and made my way to Quarzazarte through Tichka pass on the High Atlas Mountains. Stopping every so often, I enjoyed the mountain views from the valley and the cool air up in the pass. I had late breakfast at the cafe opposite the refuge and carried on through Vallee du Dades, only getting to Tinerhir when the sun was setting behind the oasis palm trees. Amazing countryside.

This was a very pleasant trip which took me to the quintessential climbing destination in Morocco: Todra Gorge, the subject of my next blog entry. I felt my luck had turned and I was ready to relax and enjoy the rest of my trip in this fascinating country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



7th January 2008

Ummm, Wow!
Hey, you sound in much better spirits. Glad you're having a more enjoyable experience in Morocco now. The food does sound good, and all fresh produce. Who needs health and safety regulations anyway!
21st January 2008

Great pictures!
I was going to post my pictures, but you have done such an awesome job, many of them will not make it past the edit. :) Beautiful work!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb