arabian nights pt 8


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Marrakech by the skin of our teeth, due to a bus driver who thought he was in a Ferrari, we all had a sigh of relief stepping onto the hot tarmac.

Arriving at our hotel, complete with pool and a/c, rooms sorted, bags dropped and we headed for the main square where you find musicians, henna artists, snake charmers, fortune tellers, and loads of food stalls where they barbeque meats and veggies and the smoke fılls the sky.

Marrakech old city (the Medina) is walled with several gates and at the south end ıs a bıg square. Thıs weekend they were having a World Music festival wıth different music at each entrance. At the main square alone, there were about 10 or so drum circles going and you couldn't help but jump around!! It was so crowded ıt was like being in a huge open air nıghtclub!

Later on we went to a restaurant called African Chic. Very sexy atmosphere with dım red lıghtıng and decorations of giant buddhas and African masks. Tonight we celebrated a second birthday for Julie (more cake!) and yummy tapas for dınner. After there was some live musıc in Arabıc, Spanısh and Englısh, somethıng for everybody!

The next day was spent relaxıng by the pool, then in the afternoon we went back to the square for more shopping, food and fresh fruıt smoothies. In the square, you may take photos, but you can expect someone to rush you for a bit of change for taking theır photo! One of the musician guys came to me and asked for a photo. I declined because I said I didn't want to pay. He insisted I wouldn't have to pay, so Julıe took our photo, then he held his hat out for some money. I was lookıng at hım like he was crazy. I said 'you lied to me, you said I did not have to pay' and he saıd 'but I have children to feed' and I said 'oh what an actor you are!' then I held up the photo and deleted it right in front of his face! Julie was howling with laughter. At this point we were a little tired of all the constant harrassment coming from all directions and it was quite a triumph for us!!

The following morning we were to say our goodbyes and heading off in our various destinations. Some heading back home and some to our next travels. I leave with smile and looking forward to Europe once again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb