Second big group e-mail


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
September 24th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

"Kif Darkum?" That's Darija (Moroccan Arabic) for "How are you all?"

For those of you who are new to this mailing list, salamu alaykum! Someone else on this list gave me your e-mail address either because I was looking for it or because they thought you would be interested. Just so that everybody is on the same page, I'm currently in Morocco training for two years of service in the Peace Corps as a Youth/Community Development muttawih (volunteer). I thought you all might want to know what I'm up to, so I created this mailing list to keep you updated and to stay in touch with everyone back home.

Thanks to all of you who responded to my first e-mail! It was great to hear from so many people. As soon as I get the chance I'll try to send out some individual responses, but please don't feel bad if I don't get to you for a little while! I still have fairly limited internet access and it takes a long time to write that much.

Things here are going great. Today is our last day of the training at our seminar site, which has included classes on Darija, TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language) and Moroccan culture/history. Tomorrow we split into smaller groups and go to CBT (Community Based Training). I will spend the next 8 days living with a Moroccan host family in the village of Sidi Hazreim, just to the east of here. I'll be begining my work in the local Dar Chebab (Youth Center), continuing language training, and spending time getting to know my host family. Apparently they have a dog (yes!) and four children between the ages of 14 and 23 so it should be a lot of fun. When I know more (and when I can get to an internet cafe again) I'll pass it on to all of you. Until then, bslama and go Red Sox!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb