Over the border and on to Nouakchott


Advertisement
Mauritania's flag
Africa » Mauritania » Trarza » Nouakchott
May 24th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kiryomi and EriKiryomi and EriKiryomi and Eri

In Mauritania...
Well it wasn’t Europeans/North Americans I met, but it was Westerners (sort of) --- Japan. Two girls, Kiryomi and Eri, whom I met them at 4 am in Dakhla. We then took a truck to Nouadibou, Mauritania. The Moroccan - Mauritanian border…WOW! It’s mined and for three KMs of no-mans land there’s really no road at all, just a path (sort of). Anyway, finally we got to the Mauritanian “customs post” where I get a three day visa for ten Euros. Well that meant I had to go to Nouachott right away. Actually this worked out because the two girls were headed there too. They don’t speak any (much) French and Kyomi is the only one who speaks English, so I can help them out that way.

In Nouadibou we stayed at camping ABBA. What a difference from Morocco. I see why Morocco is not considered “Africa”. Well Mauritania sure the hell is -- goats and sheep on the street downtown. The next morning (today) got up just before 8 am and left in a hurry for Nouakchott with the girls in a cab. Seven hours later, in Nouakchott, I had to rush to get a visa before the long
Camping ABBACamping ABBACamping ABBA

I stayed in this nice tent...actually much nicer than sleeping inside.
weekend. What I government office --- I’ve seen better looking scrap yards in Canada. However, all went smoothly and I had my month-long visa in fifteen minutes. Later I went with Kiryomi and Eri to the market --- what a hassle --- but I did get a knife and some mangoes. A relaxing day planned for tomorrow! No traveling for the first day since Tan-Tan beach! Checked my email, Hovig finally got engaged --- it begins.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

From Nouadibou to NouachottFrom Nouadibou to Nouachott
From Nouadibou to Nouachott

Seven hours in an old mercedes... I could do much worse...


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb