great mosque in the dunes


Advertisement
Mauritania's flag
Africa » Mauritania » Adrar » Chinguetti
July 14th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

a hinta hinta hint

the entrance to the mosque... no caths allowed.
chinguetti was beautiful, but I dont feel like writting about it much. just check the pictures, Ill post something else instead in a while...

oh yeah, just wanted to say that if you want to go to chinguetti you should go noow. since the killing of a bunch of frenchies in mauritania its a dessert city. me and the ppl that came with me were the only tourists in the city, and besides some CIA spies, I mean peace-corps volunteers, also the only whites (nassar in hassanian arab, a word I start to hear more and more in sentences such as: youre not like the other nassar, you dont buy stuff, you poor !)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

panoramicpanoramic
panoramic

mosque of chinguetti, wikipedia it ignorant...
nomad doornomad door
nomad door

with seven holes indicating chinguertti to be the seventh holy city in islam, a pearl in the end of a sea of dunes. maybe like timbuktu...
3hours3hours
3hours

me and other 4 people that met in atar and went to chinguetti together walked 3 hours witha guide to an oasis. for any of you thinking about doing this, I gotta tell you 3 hours in the dunes is a LOT. bring at least 4 litters of ICE water. ice... I wish I could find ice in this continent...
oasisoasis
oasis

chill chill eat dactils and tajine and drink tons of water


18th July 2008

jordigarces_mat@hotmail.com
wapisimo!! vaya aventura troncoooo!! q siga todo bien, nos vemos en septiembre un abrazo!
22nd July 2008

Pleased to meet you, I do remember your name.
Hey, Pablo! Qué pequeño es el mundo. Vi tu nota en DA y no pude quedarme más sorprendida, la verdad. Me alegro de saber que todo te va tan bien, y el pedazo de odisea por tierras africanas que te estás marcando. Estás tan moreno que no pareces ni tú! Bueno. Así, resumiendo, te diré que me licencié en periodismo, trabajé en la agencia EFE, lo dejé porque lo odiaba, y ahora mismo estoy estudiando traducción de chino, y el año que viene me voy a vivir a Taiwán durante nueve meses. Sigo yendo a Granada en vacaciones, aunque ya casi voy sólo en Navidad. Si estás por allí en esas fechas, podríamos quedar para tomar algo si te apetece. Suerte!
24th July 2008

Hola
Envidia me das. Disfrútalo a tope. Saludos

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb