Adventures in Travelling...


Advertisement
Mali's flag
Africa » Mali » District of Bamako » Bamako
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Peuhl womanPeuhl womanPeuhl woman

Local Peuhl woman. And I thought I loved accessories!
Heya everyone
Well there certainly have been some exciting times here lately! I've arrived in Mali but I'll get to that part later. There's good stuff in the middle I think you'll want to hear about...

So I finished my 3 week stint in the desert two days ago. I will admit that I was a little sad to leave, but only because I had met some great people there. Hopefully it won't be too long until I see them again! Travel the last few days has been rough, starting with a trip out in the bush where we spent 2 hours getting our truck out of the mud because it got stuck; twice. There is nothing like the feeling of scraping mud out from under your wheels with your bare hands, let me tell you. I got right into it though, and I was so muddy by the end a colleague now calls me Wilderness Girl. The trip was worth it though, because we got to make contact with some very cool people. Some highlights (see the pics) were the Peuhl women with their great outfits, and the children who kept hanging around our truck to see their reflection
Kids reflectionKids reflectionKids reflection

Local kids getting a kick out of seeing their reflection in the paint of our truck.
in the paint.

Then on my way back to town we hit 2 dust storms and 2 rainstorms so it took forever. We had to pull over during the first dust storm because we couldn't see ANYTHING. Being in the middle of one of those things is nutty, I tell you. Anyway we made it and everything and that's what counts.

Then yesterday on my flight into Mali, I actually GOT ON THE WRONG PLANE and almost flew to Benin! In my defense, I will say that they were boarding the right airline at the same boarding time as my flight and its not indicated anywhere which flight it is. That said, they called my name to come to the front of the plane just as I was getting comfortable, and they told me I was on the wrong flight. What followed was a mad and sheepish dash for my luggage and a very quick exit from the plane. Very graceful.

Anyway, now I'm in Mali and things are tip top. The manager here has appointed his son as my official driver/guide, so he's taking me around and gradually showing me the sights. Today we went to
Peuhl manPeuhl manPeuhl man

Peuhl man with kids in front of a traditional Peuhl house. These people are nomadic so they live in what look like straw igloos.
the market for a bit and I bought some cloth to make an outfit with. This is how most local clothing is made; you buy the fabric then take it to a tailor to have an outfit made. I'm pumped to have my first set of local clothing!

I've included some pics of the mine site (my tin can and others) as well as my first pics from Mali. I hope you all enjoy lots. More news tomorrow. Enjoy your weekend!

-Brownie


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Home sweet homeHome sweet home
Home sweet home

This is my tin can, home to myself and two other people.
Scenic towerScenic tower
Scenic tower

Ok, maybe the telecommunications tower on site isn't THAT scenic, but it's cool with the sun. And you get a feel for the absolute bleak flatness of the landscape on site.


16th July 2006

so i definitely had a blonde moment when you said that you lived in the tin can and said to myself "really? three people fit in that round blue thing??" lol have fun in mali!
17th July 2006

great pictures. your mud story is better than mine!
17th July 2006

Hey Wilderness Girl!
Oh come one Hans/Frans, if you really wanted to dig a vehicle out of the mud you really didn't have to go to Africa to do that...you could of just come to the farm, t's an every day occurance! But now you're all experienced so next time my truck gets stuck I'll call you instead of shawn!! sounds like you're having quite the adventures, wish I could be there with you, you're so lucky to have taken this opportunity. well take care and keep the blogs and pics coming. lots of love H/F xoxo.
19th July 2006

Way to get down and dirty girl! Kind of like rugby in the mud, I suppose..just with a truck instead of a ball :) That's a great story about the plane too, glad you got off in time. Miss you, can't wait to see how your outfit turns out! hugs, Jordan

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb