from 21st - the last week


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi
September 26th 2014
Published: September 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sunday afternoon we left Cool Runnings, visited the craft market spread along the road, where I spent all my money, on several things, most of which I don't want or need. Hattie, having learned to barter, got a very good deal on a Noah's Ark, bringing the guy down from 12,000 kwacha to 5,000. And Catoline bought two pictures for 6,000, down from 15,000 kwacha.. Next stop was the Kuti National Park where we spotted an ostrich, kudu, wildebeests, monkeys, birds, and missed the sunset but had a drink at the sunset bar anyway
Next stop, through the dark in the capable hands of Thomas, our driver, we drove to Lilongwe to a pizza inn and burger bar, then back to the camp for about 22.30, which is probably the latest we've been to bed. Already we're missing chairs with backs and cushions.
Monday was more thatching, though what we've already done kept collapsing off the rack. The remaining pile is definitely getting smaller. Rich and I were on a mission and we spurred everyone on to keep bundling till 3 pm. Our arms look as if we self harm, withcuts, grazes and splinters on our arms and legs.
Heather Palmer, CEO of Landirani arrived today from the UK and popped in to be introduced
Then Carrie and I went round the village to give away the soap I brought. Two years ago when I was here women kept asking for soap and I didn't have any, so this year I brought 19 bars. We took Loness, who runs the nursery in the CBCC, with us. She took us to the Chief's house to ask him who in the village was needy and could ill afford soap. Then a guy who is a caregiver for the disabled in the village took us from cottage to hut. We met a 96 year old and several other older women who couldn't remember how old they were. They were very grateful, which was humbling as I'd spent about £6 in Poundstretchers.
Children trailed after us, smiling shyly, or thrusting themselves into shot when I got out the camera.
Loness has been sponsored by Landirani at secondary school and is being sponsored to go to university in November to train to be a nurse. In the meantime she is minding the children in the nursery which she is very good at.

Tuesday
Pat and I go to M'Teza school over the road and work with Standard 8 in groups of ten learners. They are aged between nine and 16, as they move up a standard when they have reached a a certain level. We show them postcards of London, and Pat's Yorkshire village and play 'I went to the shop and I brought...' and Fizz. They're shy at first, but loosen up after a while. Tomorrow we'll go into Standard 7 and do similar. I'd really love to come back here and work in the school for a few weeks. It's something I've often thought about doing, so maybe now is the time and here is the place.
This evening, just when we thought we'd nearly finished bundling up the thatch, a load more was delivered.
The workmen have finished inside the training centre, so we can start levelling the floors.
This evening we played an interesting game we played last week. We think of a question eg 'If I was an animal, what would I be' and everyone has to think of something and you choose which one is the closest to what you think. I didn't get 'What would my recreational drug of choice be?' but I did get 'What is my best feature?' There were lovely things said, (my smile, my eyes, my figure, my legs, my van) but I chose 'my positivity'. Some of the questions give an insight into people's history. Caroline had 'What age was I when I had my first proper kiss?' and Ian and Hattie had 'What main characteristic would I look for in a partner?' As well as being fun, these games get us towards a reasonable bedtime hour, last night we managed to stay up till 8.45. Otherwise we're drooping by 7pm. It's partly the dark, but also the lack of a comfortable seat. Sitting on lorry tyres isn't comfortable at all.
Jules and I discuss our toilet habit at bedtime. We keep running to the loo, and doing nothing but fart. We daren't not go, just in case.
'Hmm', said Carrie, sympathetically. "Pebbledashing?'
We all had the goggles then and I had to get up and go to the loo again. I*d already had a toilet moment last week that was problematic given that the water, loo, washing facilities, and clean clothes are in totally separate areas.

Wednesday
The thatch that was delivered was put on top of what we'd already sorted yesterday, which was dispiriting, but if we ever get to the bottom of the heap (doubtful), the bundles will still be there.
Pat and I went back to M'Teza school and worked with Standard 7, aged 9 to 15 - 51 learners in all. This time we played Fizz and Kim's game, both of which proved popular.
I've cast a die and asked the Head if I could go out and work in his school for two months next year. He's very happy about the idea.
The kids are great. When Pat and I were at the school, in between groups it was playtime and we did 'Heads, shoulders,knees and toes' with them. Today they came and asked for it again. Dog and I often do it with the nursery children too, as well as the Hokey, Cokey. The so en carry the water on their heads around the site_ for wagering the plants, and for the men to mix the cement. They often have a little one tied to their back with a chitenje (length of material).
Yesterday, a little one about two years old was walking beside her mother with a baked bean can full of water on her head. She wasn't very skilled as yet, and the water was trickling down her face, but she stoically toddled on with the diminishing can, blinking away the drips.
This evening was music night. Kira and Nyomi had guitars and played several haunting songs that the younger ones sang along to, and the older ones listened. Then vice versa as Rog played a couple of Beatles numbers and a Dylan song. Then Hattie wowed us with a fantastic acapella version of Fever, while the rest of us beat the rhythm on legs, tyres or snapped fingers. This was all so exciting we managed yo stay up till after 9pm.

Thursday
Last night more thatch arrived and we helped pull it off the back of the lorry. Today we view the enormous pile, but can only bundle with the small amount of linya we have. The morning was enlivened by helping Rich snd Rog tread down the room they had dampened and rammed. We shuffle along together flattening it. By 11.30am we have used up all the linya and get in a chain gang to pile it on the rack. A few songs see us through and we break for lunch.
We've now finished all the work we're going to do. The project isn't finished, the roof struts are just going on now, then the thatching will take about a month. The ceremony tomorrow which was supposed to be a handover of the project to the community will now just be an official opening of the community library, which was built with the aid of funds donated by Tolworth School.
Pat helps me wash my hair which we do at the concrete sinks next to three little children washing their clothes.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb