Ngata Bay


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Northern » Nkhata Bay
March 27th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Street MarketStreet MarketStreet Market

As our bus rolls by, I snap this photo of a small town market.
As proof that life ebbs and flows, after our easy bus trip from Blantyre to Lilongwe, we experienced a hellish 10-hour bus trip from Lilongwe to Mzuzu. Not only was it very long (it should have only been about six hours) but about seven hours into the trip, we stopped at a town and the bus got so packed that people were standing in the aisles and sitting on the backs of the benches. A lady with a chicken stood over Vicky which caused Vicky (the English Princess) to freak out for the rest of the three hour journey. In addition, a baby being held near Vicky peed on her. I laughed as, after having traveled in India, everything is EASY. After the hellish bus trip, the girls wanted no more "public transportation" and we took a taxi the remaining 40 kms to Ngata Bay.

There we stayed at the nice Mayoka Village which has cabins right on the lake (again, $8 a night with shared bathrooms). Sweet! I spent the next two days swimming in the lake, reading my new Wilbur Smith book (Blue Horizon) and chatting with other travelers. I also caught up on some eating as Mayoka
Burger and FriesBurger and FriesBurger and Fries

The butcher and the chips (french fries to you and me) guys also sell their wares right on the street.
has great food.

I had to wait until Monday to do a scuba dive in the lake (as the dive master was out of town). When Monday did arrive, I was joined by three other travelers who wanted to dive in the lake. When we arrived at Aqua Scuba and we were told visibility might be bad, the other three people bailed. Flakes! I of course did the dive and visibility was about three feet (very poor)..... but I enjoyed it. According to some in the area, 70% of all fresh water fish in home aquariums around the world come from this lake. I was able to see many of the very colorful fish in the lake (blue, red, orange, etc.) once I got real close to them. After the dive, I swam from the dive shop back to the Mayoka Village (about 400 yards) for a good workout.

The girls (Vicky and Charlotte) took off on Monday for Tanzania so I am on my own again. Next up is Tanzania (a brief stop in Mbeya to sleep and transfer buses before reaching Dar es Salaam).


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mayoka VillageMayoka Village
Mayoka Village

This backpackers was recommended by a few travelers we met. I was able to get a hut right on the lake for $8 per night. My hut is to the left of the two Hershey Kiss looking umbrellas.
Boy on Lake MalawiBoy on Lake Malawi
Boy on Lake Malawi

A young Malawi boy rows his dugout past my hut.
Washing UpWashing Up
Washing Up

A Malawi man washes himself in the fresh lake water. Does not look like he is worried about Bilharzia (aka Schistosomiasis: a disease spread by freshwater snails). I swam in the lake so I probably have it. Yummy.
Girl PowerGirl Power
Girl Power

Vicky and Charlotte relax on the floating dock about 50 yards from the lake shore. After traveling with them for 3 weeks, I have to give them face time on my blog.
Local BandLocal Band
Local Band

On Sunday nights, Mayoka Village hosts a local band. Both instruments are home made but the sound was quite good.
CandymanCandyman
Candyman

I pose with the Candyman, an elderly gentleman who sells candy at a little table in the dining area of Mayoka Village.
My boat has arrivedMy boat has arrived
My boat has arrived

I take a small water taxi to the town of Ngata Bay for my voyage to Tanzania.


Tot: 0.632s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 33; qc: 162; dbt: 0.4449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb