One challenge after another!


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Central » Kasungu
November 18th 2012
Published: November 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

My first bicycle taxi rideMy first bicycle taxi rideMy first bicycle taxi ride

My first ride to the local hotel
I’m writing in the evening, we still have no electricity and haven’t had water all day. Thankfully they’ve put on a generator for a couple of hours which allows us some charging of devices and cooking! I’m not the only one wanting to charge devices, Erin has 3 mobile phones! I did ask why but didn’t really get a response! Still no water though L



Today I was going to wash clothes so that stumped me. I don’t really know what I spent the morning doing – oh yes – plucking up the courage to go out. I did venture out. As soon as I stepped out of the guest house a group of men were calling me over. Oh great, deep breath Sonya. As I passed they said ‘come here’ I said ‘no thank you’ and they said ‘ok thank you’! It’s a relief that they give up so easily.



As I walked the tracks children come running to me shouting ‘give me money, give me money’. I say no and carry on walking and they too, thankfully, soon give up.



People greet you here by saying ‘hello how are you’, and you must respond ‘good, how are you’? If you don’t then they still say ‘I’m good too thank you!’ So if you don’t you feel a little rude!



Because of this, it’s hard to ignore people when they want to introduce themselves to you in the street. Some just greet you but others want to know where you are from, if you are married, where is your husband….



So I went to the local posh hotel and was supplied with a menu. I ordered and was advised that they can’t cook because they have no electricity! What can I eat please?



Gentry popped in to check on me this afternoon and he asked me in a lot of detail about gay rights in the UK. It’s illegal here but it seems there is some lobbying of some kind going on. These intelligent conversations are beginning to hurt my head.



Anyway it’s been a very long day and I’m starting to feel a little low. It’s disappointing that in the UK we fill our time with activities. Here they are content just being in the moment! I really need to appreciate that more.



So work tomorrow and I truly hope the electricity comes back on so I can work!

(more photos to follow, I'm having troubles!!!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb