Photo Attempt Number One...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Kajiado
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Enda Supa! (Hello to everyone!)

YEAH! I have figured out how to get the photos on the web. In this blog I've only downloaded a few, though. It seems to take quite a while... So, what I've done is put them on my photo website at www.lifeofbrooke.shutterfly.com and will put them on here when I get a little more time. I hope that you get a chance to check them out. The people here are so beautiful and there are some really cool photos of the kids we get to hang out with... they are so funny.

The bed got dropped off yesterday after a long, bumpy and dusty ride back into Saikeri. When I got out of the truck Al walked up and began laughing at how dirty I was. I couldn't see my face, but my black trousers were fully red from the dust. The truck was going to fast on the way back (there were only a couple of us in the back and it was a big truck with tall sides so it was okay... not dangerous) and there was a few times where, I am not kidding, I was fully in the air from all the bouncing. It was so much fun. The Maasai that I was ridding with had their Kangas (the bits of fabric that they wrap around their bodies) over their heads to keep the dust away. One of the women gave me one of hers for the first bit of the ride but then she got off half way. So, the rest of the way I pulled my rain-jacket hood up and pulled it tight so only my eyes were showing and then put on my huge sunglasses to protect my eyes. The other people on the truck were lauging at me. There were parts on the ride back where it was so bumpy and I was in the air more than in my seat that I was laughing so hard I had tears running down my face. Actually, just thinking about it now is making me smile...

We are in Karen today getting ready to go eat some lunch. It was a pretty uneventful truck ride in this morning... only about 20 people and nearly 50 gallons of fresh cows milk...

We are going to the resturant Carnivore tonight to eat. It has been rated one of the top 50 resturants in the world twice! They serve you as much meat as you can eat and serve it on swords. I can't wait.

Off for safari tomorrow bright and early. We'll be in the Masai Mara until Sunday night and will overnight in Nairobi city until Monday. Then we are going with a guide from the safari organization to Kibera slums. They are the second largest slums in the world. We are going to pick up some toy cars and some small toys for the kids and will hand them out while we are there. Then in the afternoon we are going to pick up more things for the maternity... baby blankets, clothes soaps, and things so that mothers can have a small care package to take home with them after they deliver. We hope that will give some incentive for the first few mothers to start using and spreading the word about the maternity so that it gets lots of use.

We both really looking forward to this weekend and will have a lot to blog to you on Monday before we catch the truck back to Saikeri.

I will try to get some information on the maternal and infant health on here for you to check out on Monday and Alan will write some things on Monday as well... with trying to download the pictures we ran out of time today. I hope that you all get a chance to check out the www.lifeofbrooke.shutterfly.com picture site and hope that you enjoy looking at them.

Have a great weekend and happy first day of summer.

Much love from Africa,
brooke

p.s. We both forgot to step outside at 12 noon today to see our lack of shadows... I knew we'd forget... we'll have to come back next year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



22nd June 2007

simply amazing
We went to shutterfly and looked at all photos up to album 3. You captured beautiful images that allowed us to visit you and Alan. Blue uniforms are school kids or was Alan starting another soccer team? Keep it going, be safe, Love you, mom and dad

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb