Internet in Awendo!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisii
April 7th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all! This is a short one. I feel guilty hogging the one internet computer in this town, and a line has been waiting forever. I've been online for an hour and 15 minutes, and I know those waiting only want a few minutes each.

Big news! Awendo has internet! This district headquarters town is just a few minutes from Ranen and only a 20 shilling ride. I am so thrilled! And now, I will be leaving, and only able to enjoy it a few times. There is only one computer, and it is a bit slow, but it's here, and demand will cause expansion. Some of the line has given up in disgust, but there is no posted limit, so...but I can't bear to have them watching me anymore.

The other news is that my daughter Micky is coming to visit. Will be here from April 9 (Kenya time) until I leave on April 21. She will be in Dago until we both depart on April 13 for Namunyak, a Maasai village. It was originally on my agenda, but cancelled due to post election violence. All is well now, and going there for only one week. Would have been 2, but rearranged with Micky's visit because the Odoyo family would not hear of her not staying with them. So, Emmanual at Namunyak has been gracious. With both of us helping there for one week, hopefully will make it up to him and the new primary school we will be helping with. Micky will have a blast with the children, and I will talk about nutrition to as many classes and groups as possible while there. We should cap off that week with a safari in the famous Maasai Mara Reserve, then to departure from Nairobi. My Ghana experience begins on April 21. Due to violence in Kenya, all my tourist plans were squashed, so I plan to take time for tourism in Ghana. I know I will visit Kenya in the future.

Before leaving Nyanza province and Luo land, I have a few more stories, so hope to do a blog or two before the end of the week. And, I really am going to try to get photos off my camera cards.

So, a busy week ahead. Tomorrow to another location - West Sakwa. People there are begging for information. I will be giving a nutrition class to a huge group from all over the location, and they insist the 75 nursery school children (about 50 are orphans) must greet me. Last time I visited, thought it was to talk to a small group.....over 200 people greeted Pamela and I! We were overwhelmed. We don't know what they were expecting, but they came with all their support groups and samples of their crafts, plus a report of their projects. Also, people with physical disabilities, injuries, infections, etc., came to me to show me their problem. I wanted to escape, hide, disappear. Anyway, the welcoming program was so long, and Pamela gave them a good talk about development, then no time for nutrition. I promised to come back. So, tomorrow. We told them we have only time for the nutrition class, and best to limit the group size, but they said everyone is so anxious to hear and see us again that they can't keep them away. I also ordered some baskets, and they will be done.

Best wishes to everyone. Feeling very comfortable here, and used to being the only white in a sea of dark. But, looking forward to home, friends, and family, and getting started there again. Still don't know what I will do - so many possibilities. Hope to be back in a few days.

Love and peace,
Deni

Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb