I'm in Rongo


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisii
January 6th 2007
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,
I'm in Rongo now. We drove from Nairobi on Wed. We're making a quick trip to Kisii today to do some banking, so we were able to come online. (It's about a half hour from Rongo.) Rongo doesn't have internet, most of it doesn't even have electricity. I'm having a good time here. It's very different. I don't have a lot of time to write, so I'll write in the details later. Hosea's family is very nice. We're now staying there. The day before yesterday I went with Agnes to her home in Awendo. Her family is also very very nice. The roads to get there were awful though and there were a couple times I thought the car would get stuck. It's been raining a lot, so everything is extremely muddy. At Agnes' house they gave the two of us rain boots to wear cause it was so bad. The day after we got there Agnes, two of her nieces and I went for a walk around the area. I saw the local elementary school and visited several relatives. The most amazing part was going to where they locally proccess sugar. That was really neat. I even got to feed the cane into the machine that crushes it. I'll elaborate on all of this either when I'm back in Nairobi or back in the states. I'm keeping a very detailed journal so I won't forget anything. On Mon. I'll be filming the relocation ceremony and be helping to build the mud house. =) Looking forward to that. Sorry this update is so short, but I don't have the time to write more. Just wanted to let you all know that I'm fine and am having a great time. Miss you all so much! Take care! Ciao

Advertisement



Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb