Overland Tour 20-21 of 35


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
December 26th 2015
Published: January 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Merry Christmas!!!!! Today is xmas and we spent it crossing the border from Tanzania to Kenya for the 64th country I have visited in the world. Nothing too special about the drive, but when we arrived in Nairobi I, for some reason, was pretty excited by the moderness, or westerness of the city. Before setting up camp we stopped at a mall. A mall! Hahaha most things were closed, but I did stumble upon a brewery. Heeeelllll yeeeaaaahhh!!!!! We only had 20 minutes to shop for water and snacks, but I decided that was enough time to have a cheeky pint as well! A bitter beer was my choice and it went down quickly to match my excitement of this place. Off to camp to find no internet available so I did get a little down missing all the seasonal festivities back home. But it was the last night for a few people on the tour so we made the most of the situation and got to partying. I had some Christmas whiskey which was pretty much a bootleg fireball. I took some real cinnamon from the spice tour in Zanzibar and put it in some whiskey I, apparently, had been saving since Zambia(read I forgot about the whiskey for a few weeks so I put it to good use). We played a game of African Facts where you had to say an interesting fact about Africa and then take a pull from the bottle. So fun and educational as well! Once the whiskey was gone I still had 2 bottles of banana wine that got passed around for everyone’s enjoyment. This was all before a giant Christmas feast of chicken and potatoes. Idk who did the cooking but there was soooo not enough food. And only two items. Wow. Not even the chapatti our fearFULL leader said every Kenyan had on xmas or it meant that the year was a really bad year for them. Cool. Thanks. Way to limp out last minute. The next morning we had brekky and a trip ending meeting before being let loose to do our own thing in Nairobi for a day. Matt and I walked to the mall where there was free wifi at the brewery and I got to catch up a lil with the haps back home. Then we caught some local transport to a different mall where the theater was playing the new Star Wars movie in 3D. We thoroughly enjoyed an expensive meal at Subway before the flick. I haven’t had western food in ages and I didn’t mind paying the extra dough as I considered it a Christmas present to myself. Hahaha. The movie was good too! At night we (the leftovers of the group) went to a meat filled restaurant only to find out it was a whopping $36 for a set meal of many kinds of bbq’d meat. Not my cup of tea so the poor ones(matt and i) decided it was too rich for our blood and proceeded out the door only to find a different section of the restaurant where we could order ala carte and everything was cheaper. Even the same exact drinks were cheaper on that side. Stooooooopppppiiiiiiid………But we had another xmas meal under our belt and off to bed with dreams, not of sugar plum fairies, but of who the 18 people we were going to pick up the next day would be.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb